Magnificent MEKONG, but next time, Disney


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
February 27th 2006
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

YES!YES!YES!

This is what I came here for...Yes, yes, more, more. I have a 100 pictures. They all look like this. It was exactly what I wanted to see.
The Mighty Mekong River, one of the largest rivers in the world, snakes it way through South Vietnam in the form of nine tributaries, known as the "Nine Dragons." Dena and I signed up for a 3-day tour which would bring us from Saigon by bus 3 hours to the first big, industrious city in the Delta. From there, it was all boats of one kind or another getting into smaller and smaller channels until finally we were squeezing our rowboats past children swimming. It was exactly what I wanted to see in Vietnam and had I left without seeing this, I would've been disappointed and felt my trip incomplete.

We slept in very basic hotels on land in the major cities throughout the Delta. Our tour was cheap - $30 for 3 days, everything included - so it attracted an eclectic clientele. Mostly experienced travelers, politically-aware, environmentally responsible, very polite and interesting to talk to. We were the only Americans. This is how we met Joseph (future blog entry) and a whole slew of travelers who were as interested in seeing Vietnam as they were interested in meeting fellow travelers and swapping stories. We had a blast!

There
Living on the DeltaLiving on the DeltaLiving on the Delta

About 8 million people live on this river in this area of South Vietnam.
is one downside to traveling in an exotic, foreign land and that I didn't realize before this trip - when you live in an exotic, foreign land, that is exactly what you DON'T want when you go on vacation. I never understood how so many aid worker friends of mine took R&R in places like DisneyLand. Well, now I know why - because everything works in DisneyLand! Electricity, phones, people speaking a language you understand. Hopefully, you never have to point to some strange looking food and say "This is vegetable, right?" Before I left for Vietnam, my NGO friends commented that my vacation destination was "interesting." Apparently, they were trying to tell me..."This is your chance! Run, don't walk, to the nearest resort (Bali) and spend the next 5 days poolside, you fool!" Someone please remind me of this next time I plan to go on R&R.

Despite this, pictures don't lie...I had a great time in the delta. Best part - getting to know a good friend even better.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

DenaDena
Dena

C'mon, she's super cute.
Toy boat Toy boat Toy boatToy boat Toy boat Toy boat
Toy boat Toy boat Toy boat

Small, but not small enough to fit through the channels. We leave our boat and board row boats. Thankfully, we don't row ourselves.
Lunch with Dena and the GuysLunch with Dena and the Guys
Lunch with Dena and the Guys

Deter (Germany), Christian (Chile) and Rudy (Belgium) with Dena. Rudy has traveled via the Mongolian-Siberian Express train twice..and will do it again. My hero! Me want to go too!!
Beware Dangerous VipersBeware Dangerous Vipers
Beware Dangerous Vipers

I courageously wrestled this one all by myself, wearing my custom-made shirt from Hoi An.
Vietnamese Twinkie!Vietnamese Twinkie!
Vietnamese Twinkie!

Crispy rice baked in a banana leaf with a surprise inside - a banana!


13th March 2006

Greeting from Boston, MA
Erica - Your mom sent along your blog address and suggested we take a look at your adventures. What a great experience. You have visited places that I have only read about, and some I've never heard of - good for you. You may not remember me, but I just wanted to send you a note - (your father's cousin and Zia Marilia's daughter)
15th March 2006

More entries?
Vietnam looked great but no Picture of Ho? Very disapointing ;-p you havent been on skype lately either
16th March 2006

WHAT A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!
ERICA, I live vicarously through your wonderful adventures. I don't know where you get the courage to go to all these unknown parts or the world, but god bless you and good luck! auntie ginny
21st March 2006

Amazing!
Hi Erica! Your blog is awesome! I love reading about your adventures!

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb