The Mekong Delta (Sinh cafe tours)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

28 and 29 October 2008 - My 3rd visit to the Mekong Delta. I made the first trip to the area 9 years ago on a 3-day tour to 6 provinces with Sinh cafe. Unfortunately, on that trip I used a camera with roll films and it didn't work due to some technical problems. I ended up having no photos on the trip. Some years later, I joined a 1-day tour to Mỹ Tho and Bến Tre. This time I was back in the Mekong Delta, but I chose a 2-day tour to visit 4 provinces Long An, Vĩnh Long, Cần Thơ and Tiền Giang.

The bus left Sinh cafe office at 8am. After 3 hours, we arrived at Cái Bè of Tiền Giang province and started the boat ride along Cái Bè river. We visited a farm to see how the locals make rice papers, coconut candy and rice cakes before moving to a restaurant by the Mekong river and enjoyed simple lunch. Also at this place, we saw a lake where crocodiles are raised. Then we gathered inside a house with simple stage to see "đờn ca tài tử" song performance made by the local singers, who are also the farmers.

After a short boat ride, we went to Vĩnh Long city. Some people on the 1-day tour visited the market then they would go back to Sài Gòn, while we continued our way to Cần Thơ city. This is the largest city in the Mekong Delta. At 4:30pm, we arrived at the hotel and I had to pay a single supplement to get my own room. On my first visit to this city 9 years ago, I shared a "xe lôi" (simple vehicle same like rickshaw in India but it's motorized) with some other tourists and we went to a place by the river, but nowadays this vehicle has been banned. As I was alone this time, I just walked around the area near my hotel, found a pharmacy to buy some medicine as I caught cold and had cough, then had dinner at a restaurant near my hotel.

Next day, we visited Cái Răng floating market. Although we went to the place at 7:30am, there were not many boats left since the market is often organized early in the morning, maybe at 5am to 7am. In the Mekong Delta, the boats are always painted with red eyes on the front side and if a boat sells something like fruit, there is always such kind of fruit hanging up on the pole. We also saw the boats carrying sand, even a motorbike. Some people live on the boat and they move around along the Mekong river.

We had an hour relaxing at a fruit garden and enjoyed fresh fruit. Then we visited An Bình market in Cần Thơ, had lunch and crossed the Mekong river by ferry before going back to Vĩnh Long city by bus. Some more time was spent at the market where I saw people selling snakes. In fact, snake meat is one of the local dishes in the area. We were back in Sài Gòn by bus at 7pm.

One of the symbols of the Mekong Delta is the monkey bridges (cầu khỉ). They are very simple bridges made of bamboo and wood and it's very difficult to walk on these bridges. Many of them have been replaced with concrete bridges. On this trip, I saw only one monkey bridge in Cần Thơ.

After 3 trips with Sinh cafe (current name: Sinh Tourist) on all 1-day, 2-day and 3-day Mekong Delta tours, I would say that I still like the first trip (3-day tour) most of all. Some places on that tour 9 years ago are no longer included on the present tours. For example, Đồng Tháp (Xẻo Quýt - the Vietnamese soldiers base during the American war) or the bird park near Cần Thơ have been moved from the list of sightseeing. Both places were very interesting. Also, Sinh cafe combines all people on the different day tours on the same trip, then at the end of the day we are separated toward different directions. That's more flexible for them, not the same like the tour groups I joined before, when we traveled together on the whole trips.

The photos in this blog were taken at Cái Bè river, the farms to make coconut candy and rice papers, houses by the Mekong river, floating market in Cần Thơ, local markets in Vĩnh Long and Cần Thơ.

Tour thăm Đồng bằng sông Cửu Long – Ngày 28 & 29/10/2008

Đây là lần thứ ba tôi đến khu vực này và đều đi theo tour của Sinh café (nay là Sinh Tourist). Trong chuyến đi lần đầu tiên, tôi đi tour 3 ngày đến thăm 6 tỉnh miền Tây, nhưng khi đó máy ảnh của tôi bị hỏng và một khách du lịch người Mỹ đã gửi ảnh cho tôi. Vài năm sau, tôi đi tour một ngày thăm Mỹ Tho – Bến Tre. Lần này, tôi quyết định đi tour 2 ngày đến thăm 4 tỉnh miền Tây là Long An, Tiền Giang, Cần Thơ và Vĩnh Long. Đúng 8 giờ sáng, tôi có mặt tại văn phòng của Sinh café. Chiếc xe buýt chật vật len lỏi qua các khu phố đồng đúc của Sài Gòn, đi qua Quận 4 và 3 tiếng đồng hồ sau thì đến Cái Bè thuộc tỉnh Tiền Giang, cách Sài Gòn 100km. Xe chỉ dừng một lần duy nhất để mọi người nghỉ ngơi. Chúng tôi đi bộ ra bến thuyền rồi đi thuyền dọc theo sông Cái Bè. Hai bên bờ sông là những ngôi nhà nhỏ, có cả nhà thờ ngay cạnh bờ sông. Trên đường đi, chúng tôi cũng nhìn thấy một chiếc tàu chở một chiếc xe máy ở ngay đầu mũi tàu hay một chiếc tàu chở toàn cát. Cậu hướng dẫn viên giải thích là nếu thuyền nào treo loại hoa quả nào thì thuyền đó bán loại hoa quả đó.

Thuyền cập bến và chúng tôi lên một khu nhà có bày bán các chai rượu rắn nhỏ, các đồ lưu niệm. Gần đó là hai người đàn ông đang cắt kẹo dừa. Phía trong ngôi nhà là một cô gái đang tráng bánh đa. Ngoài sân là những nong phơi bánh. Cậu hướng dãn viên giải thích cách làm kẹo dừa, có dùng cả lá dứa. Gần đó là một chiếc máy xoay hỗn hợp màu trắng là kẹo. Tiếp đến, chúng tôi được mời ăn kẹo dừa và kẹo chuối.

Sau đó, chúng tôi đi dọc theo con đường ngay sát bờ sông, thấy những ngôi nhà dân ở ngay bên tay trái. Đi qua những cửa hàng bán đồ lưu niệm và một cửa hàng bán tranh, chúng tôi bước vào khu nhà xưởng để xem người ta làm bỏng gạo. Trên bếp than có đặt một chiếc chảo, cạnh đó là vỏ nhãn. Sau khi cho gạo lẫn với cát đen, cậu thanh niên đảo một hồi thì gạo nở thành bỏng màu trắng, cậu sàng
Cầu khỉ (monkey bridge)Cầu khỉ (monkey bridge)Cầu khỉ (monkey bridge)

The simple bridge made of bamboo and wood is called "Monkey bridge" in the Mekong Delta. Nowadays many of them have been replaced with concrete bridges.
lấy bỏng ra. Gian bên cạnh là nơi quấy đường để trộn lẫn bỏng gạo thành bánh bỏng. Sau đó, chúng tôi quay lại thuyền và đi tiếp trên sông cho đến khu vực nhà hàng của Sinh café bên bờ sông để ăn trưa.

Sau khi ăn trưa xong, chúng tôi đi dọc theo con đường phía sau đến hồ câu cá sấu. Dọc theo bờ là những ngôi nhà bungalow. Chúng tôi vào một căn nhà để nghe hát đờn ca tài tử. Có hai người đàn ông gảy đàn, một người đàn ông nữa thì chơi đàn bầu và hát một bài. Hai cô gái trẻ với mái tóc dài, một cô đóng vai bà mẹ, nhưng khuôn mặt thì còn trẻ và xinh xắn. Kết thúc buổi diễn, họ đặt một chiếc giỏ để mọi người cho tiền tip vào đó. Chúng tôi quay lại thuyền và đi về Vĩnh Long. Khi đến bến tàu, chúng tôi lên bờ. Một số người đi tour một ngày sẽ thăm chợ Vĩnh Long một tiếng đồng hồ trước khi quay lại Sài Gòn, còn chúng tôi đi tiếp đến Cần Thơ. Chúng tôi phải qua phà một lần. Tất cả mọi người phải xuống xe, bước lên phà, leo lên tầng hai chỗ dành cho người đi bộ. Sau khi qua phà, chúng tôi đi bộ về khách sạn của mình ở thành phố Cần Thơ.

7 giờ sáng ngày hôm sau, chúng tôi khởi hành đi thăm chợ nổi Cái Răng. Thực ra, chợ thường họp vào lúc sáng sớm từ 5-7 giờ, nên khi chúng tôi tới nơi thì chợ cũng chẳng còn gì mấy. Sau đó, thuyền quay lại con đường cũ và chúng tôi đi về hướng khác, qua những kênh rạch thấy nhà dân, thuyền bè, cầu bê tông và duy nhất một chiếc cầu khỉ. Cuối cùng thì thuyền dừng lại ở một khu vườn, nơi chúng tôi nghỉ ngơi và ăn trái cây trong một tiếng đồng hồ. Điểm cuối cùng ở Cần Thơ là chợ An Bình. Xe quay về TP Cần Thơ để mọi người ăn trưa. Trên đường về Sài Gòn, chúng tôi lại đi qua phà, rồi ghé thăm chợ Vĩnh Long. Ở đây có bán cả rắn. Chúng tôi nghỉ một lần ở Mỹ Tho và đến 7 giờ tối thì về đến văn phòng của Sinh café ở Sài Gòn.

Sau 3 lần đi tour Mekong Delta của Sinh café với đầy đủ một ngày tour, hai ngày tour và ba ngày tour, tôi vẫn thích nhất và ấn tượng nhất với tour 3 ngày mà tôi đã đi cách đây 9 năm. Hiện giờ, tour 3 ngày không còn đến thăm Đồng Tháp (Xẻo Quýt – khu căn cứ bộ đội trong thời chiến tranh) và vườn cò gần Cần Thơ. Đó là những nơi rất thú vị trong hành trình.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



4th November 2008

wish i was here!
i was born in cantho. i visited this place back in december 2007. i had a wonderful time here. keep on traveling and sharing your stories with us!
4th November 2008

Can't wait to return to Vietnam
Enjoy your travel blogs so much. Your pictures area great. Please keep up the good work. Your blog helps keeping me counting the days until I return in June 09.

Tot: 0.562s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 38; qc: 177; dbt: 0.1907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb