Homeward Bound


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Kien Giang » Phu Quoc Island
February 26th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My sun lounge awaitsMy sun lounge awaitsMy sun lounge awaits

Nothing to do all day in Phu Quoc but relax, read, swim, or have a beach massage. It was really tough.
Spent my final week checking out the Cu Chi Tunnels (Viet Cong guerrilla stronghold) and chilling out on the idyllic Phu Quoc Island, which is located off the southern coast of Vietnam in the Gulf of Thailand. I've felt really buggered the last 6 weeks, so it was nice not having to do much other than roll out of my bungalow (lots of ZZZ's) to the beach (relax, swim, read) to the cafe (a girl's gotta keep up her strength). But I did manage to rouse myself enough to do a snorkelling trip to the nearby An Thoi Islands and Bai Sao beach.

I have really enjoyed my stay in Vietnam, in particular the divine food. The only thing I was disappointed to see was that Vietnam has followed the mantra of mass consumerism with all the requisite greed and ever-widening gap between the rich and poor. Whilst I applaud the way this country has risen from the ashes of numerous conflicts, I couldn't help but feel sad that wherever I went I was labelled as a well-to-do Westerner and by how much they could rip me off. An extremely harsh indictment, but unfortunately a view echoed by other tourists
Obligatory sunset shotObligatory sunset shotObligatory sunset shot

This is not going to make it into National Geographic, but I'm a sucker for a good sunset. This was the view I got every night lying on my sun lounge holding an ice-cold beer. Jealous?
I met. Then again, why am I surprised? You can't blame its citizens for wanting a better life and what we take for granted. It's no different to what has occurred in other Asian countries, and indeed the world over. Notwithstanding, I would like to return to Vietnam sometime in the future. Maybe try and convince some mates to come for a foodie and golfing tour - now that would be groovy.

This will be my last blog entry - at least for this trip. Hard to fathom that I have been away for 11 months and on my way back to Sydney. I've visited 28 countries in total, of which 22 were new countries that I'd visited for the first time. It has been the most amazing experience ever. I have been awed by the places I've been to, the many cultures I've seen and experienced, the wonderful generosity of random strangers, and best of all the fabulous people and other travellers that I've met along the way.

As time went by I grew in self-confidence that I could get by on my own. And it was always heartening to receive comments and emails from family, friends
Bai Sao beachBai Sao beachBai Sao beach

Fabulous white powder beach. Nothing better than scoffing down a fresh seafood steamboat under the swaying palms.
and anyone else who happened onto the blog. This was always a happy surprise. It felt like I was never alone, and that I had a whole raft of people travelling with me and cheering me on. Go Gus Go (ha ha) !!!

I was fortunate that I didn't have any scary incidences; only minor inconveniences. What were the highlights? There are too many to recall. This trip has really opened my eyes to the good, the bad, and the downright hilarious. I won't even pretend to make any deep and meaningful statements about how to achieve world peace. That wasn't the purpose of this trip, which was merely the fulfillment of a longstanding dream and my personal odyssey.

Enough of the sentimental BS already. It's time to sign off. Adios chicas & amigos - hasta luego. It's been a total blast. As the great (at least in his own mind) boxing dude Jeff Fenech used to say - "Oi luv youse all". Until the next great adventure, which I'm thinking will be very very soon......

Lots of love,
Gus
















An Thoi IslandsAn Thoi IslandsAn Thoi Islands

This was the 1st snorkelling spot. Fantastic visibility. Pity I couldn't take any underwater shots. Lots of tropical fish swimming amidst huge brain & clam-shaped coral.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

More snorkellingMore snorkelling
More snorkelling

This was the 2nd snorkel spot. The water was beautiful & clear.
Peek-a-booPeek-a-boo
Peek-a-boo

One of the hidden trap doors which would have been booby-trapped with explosives.
Scurrying through the tunnelsScurrying through the tunnels
Scurrying through the tunnels

The tunnels have been enlarged to accommodate Westerners. Still it's not for the claustrophobic.
Trap DoorTrap Door
Trap Door

One of the booby traps used by the Viet Cong consisting of a swinging bamboo trap door which dropped an unsuspecting GI onto sharp bamboo poles. OUCH!
Man, that's gotta hurtMan, that's gotta hurt
Man, that's gotta hurt

Another booby trap which literally tears a man's body to shreds as they fall through the middle. Simple, effective and mega-nasty.


27th February 2007

wow! thanks!
es indeed it was an odessy. I shall miss your blogs which I have been following for 11 months! the thing that will save me will be that I am leaving for Argentina on the 9th March so I shall be occupied in my own blog-land. I'm there for tango but no doubt will get much much more. Your south American blogs were what drew me to your postings in the first place and then I got hooked!.... Happy travels!...You know that from now on you'll new stop being a traveller.....
27th February 2007

She's coming home
Cant wait to see you when you get home - there is a job for you at World Expeditions.......!
28th February 2007

Welcome Home
What a fantastic year you've had Gus! Cheers and Welcome Home.
28th February 2007

I can't believe it's all over!
It's seems like WE have only just got back and were expecting to be reading your blogs for ages yet. It just feels like I've stopped travelling again after reading your last blog. When you get home sit back, have a breather and then start planning your next trip - come back to Blighty for more than a day!
7th August 2007

wow
thank you so much...i dont know how I found this ...but Im glad I did...three hours have passed at work...ive got nothing done...and I prob. will be fired....sooooo if you need a private chef,,,a good one( ask Aerosmith..I was their chef for a while)Ill go on your next tour....thanx agaain....stephen

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb