Cantho Universities Learning Center


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cantho University Learning Resource Center

The last business I had in the Mekong Delta was arranging for some training for our Librarian in the Unification Library. She is a 1st grade teacher but knows little about libraries.

I wanted to talk to the University of Cantho’s Librarian. To do this I had to get through the maze of misinformation I was getting from my friends. “You can’t get in the library with out a student ID.” One student told me the librarian was mean. Remembering my friend Frank’s advice from Saigon: “Everything is impossible, anything is possible,” I kept plugging away. When I was about ready to hire a motorbike to go there and knock on the door, my friend Prof. Trung called and said he would pick me up and try our luck. We went there, it’s not called a library and more it is now called the Cantho University Learning Resource Center.”

We walked right in, called for the librarian; her assistant greeted us, showed us the building and introduced us to Huynh Thi Trang, M. Sc. the Director of the whole place.

Not only were we warmly greeted but after she listened to our problems said that helping the libraries in the Mekong Delta was part of their mission and that she was overjoyed that we had come for help.

We talked about bringing our Librarian to Cantho for a week to four weeks of training this summer. Also, the learning center my send one of their staff to the Unification Library to help the Librarian this summer. Our Unification Librarian will also be invited to several workshops the Center puts on the rest of the year.

Mrs. Trang holds a Masters Degree from Simmons University in Boston Mass. It was selected as a "Best College" by U.S.News & World Report. She speaks very good English and couldn’t have been friendlier.

This beautiful building the Learning Center is located was built by Atlantic Philanthropies a United States Charitable Foundation. The center has 61 well trained staff. Its missions are not only to provide the resources, services and facilities necessary to support the university in increasing knowledge need of its faculties, students and staff but also to support information resources for the development of the Mekong Delta Area.

The building has four floors and is absolutely beautiful and functional. Not enough room here to go into all its capabilities but it has 450 computers in the building. Most for students.

This is almost too good to be true. I am going to Saigon tomorrow on a hydrofoil boat.
It will only take 2 ½ to 3 hours.






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



14th January 2008

library truth
Too bad there's wrong rumors about the library. Really good that you were able to find out the truth, and have such a wonderful experience. Cousin Camilla
23rd January 2008

Cantho
Cantho University Learning Resource Center. I made a mistake in the title. It is known as I have just stated. I thought I made it clear that the "mean Librarian" was old thinking. I and every visitor, student or anyone is greated warmly. Lastly, I called Simmons College, Simmons University. Through Ms. Trang, I was inpressed by the only Simmons graduate I know-her. If you are ever in Cantho I encourage you to visit this Center and the whole University. You will be impressed. I apologize to my readers for my mistakes. Blog writer, Kent Converse

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb