Cần Thơ


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
December 14th 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Cần Thơ, south of Saigon, is the fourth largest city of Vietnam. It is located along the Mekong Delta. This little riverside town may be small, but it comes to life at night as street vendors and locals come out for the breeze. Its a nice town to stop by and enjoy a boat ride on the river or visit the local floating market. There's also a really good Nem Nướng roll place called Nem Nuong Thanh Van. It is a favorite of the locals and everyone in town knows of it.

I met a local on the bus from Saigon to Can Tho. We sat next to each other the whole ride and he told me his life story. Of how he used to wild out when he was younger, with women and alcohol. He was in Saigon to see a doctor for his liver. Years of drinking has done its damage on his liver. He talked of how he lives a simple life now and is married with a child. He advised me to not be too quiet. I was quiet the whole time because I was scared of him (I was raised to fear my own people). We exchanged numbers once we got to Can Tho and he invited to have coffee with him. I never called him. My stay in Can Tho the first time would be short. I took the bus to Rach Gia the next day or so for a ferry to Phu Quoc Island.

My second visit to Can Tho was on my way back from Phu Quoc. This time I was traveling with Dani, the Israeli girl. We hung out for a couple of day and then went our separate ways...





Nem Nuong at Nem Nuong Thanh Van


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Floating MarketFloating Market
Floating Market

Went to a floating market at early morning. Met some Americans on the tour. They were cool.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb