A Different Kind of Meat


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands
January 2nd 2014
Published: April 19th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Dog MeatDog MeatDog Meat

There were so many places that serve dog. We decided to try this one.
My stay in Da Lat presented many opportunities for new experiences. One of which, was a chance to try dog meat. Western culture tends to stay clear of this type of meat, but it is a commonly eaten meat here in Vietnam. After a little persuasion from some friends, we drove to a dog meat shop and picked up some bbq dog meat. The meat came with an assortment of veggies. Mostly aromatics such as lemon grass and bayleaf to mask the smell of dog that may be present. A shrimp paste sauce also came with the meat. This paste is more difficult for people to eat than the actual dog itself. It smelled really bad and is definitely an acquired taste. The dog meat itself was actually very tasty. It was juicy, a little chewy with similar texture as pork. It was an experience I'll never forget. I wouldn't do it again though.




"I have become attached to the family at Enjoy Da Lat Hostel. They are a great bunch. Very straight forward and kind people. It was difficult for me to lower my defense at first, but once I did, things got better. It just goes to show that what ever I'm thinking in my head is usually not true. I will continue to trust and not think too much about situations and make assumptions. Ate dog today. It wasn't bad tasting. Just the thought of it being dog was hard for me to swallow. I'm proud of myself for trying it."
Journal Entry: 01.01.2014


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Aromatic HerbsAromatic Herbs
Aromatic Herbs

It helped to cover up the smell of dog meat.
Dog Meat Crew 2Dog Meat Crew 2
Dog Meat Crew 2

Myself, Joseph to the bottom right, a brave English traveler- upper right and two friends who works at the hostel in the back.
1313
13

After we got our dog meat fix, we played 13.
SoupSoup
Soup

This was not Dog.
New Years Eve PartyNew Years Eve Party
New Years Eve Party

We didn't partake in any festivities that the city offered. Opting to stay in and BBQ.
Traditional Vietnamese mealTraditional Vietnamese meal
Traditional Vietnamese meal

Rice (Cơm Niêu) and braised fish.


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb