Delights of Dalat


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Lam Dong » Da Lat
January 27th 2012
Published: January 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I spent my last day in Ho Chi Minh at the Chu Chi tunnels, which was very interesting with our tour guide who introduced himself as John Wayne so that tourists can remember his name. You could climb on an old tank & fire a gun & go down & walk through the tunnels. I went through the tunnels, which are really small & hot. The night before I ran into 2 guys from Bakers who will be joining with me in March. It was great to catch up with them & amazing to meet them unexpectedly in the street.

After HCMC I went to Dalat, which is in the central highlands so it is not so hot & actually quite cool in the winter. It was hard to find accommodation because it is the public holiday of Tet & all Vietnamese are also travelling. Yesterday I spent the day on the back of a motorbike exploring the countryside around Dalat. I saw a waterfall, flower farm & tried some local coffee. Our last stop was the crazy house, which has been styled as if it had stepped out of Alice in Wonderland with buildings shaped as trees. I really enjoyed being on a motorbike with the fresh air going past & beautiful views.

Today I joined a trekking trip & went up Langbein, which was good fun & another beautiful day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb