Friends and Motorcycles!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Lam Dong » Da Lat
April 7th 2006
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Da Lat at night!Da Lat at night!Da Lat at night!

Here are my friends and I-we are constantly together and the Eiffel Tower replica is behind us! :)
Hi Everyone!!
I am back from Vietnam and en route to Hong Kong! I had a great time in Vietnam. We arrived in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) and I stayed a day there with my friends the first night but then we took a bus to another city called Da Lat. It was a six-hour bus ride, not that bad. The first day in Ho Chi Minh, my friend Annee and I went to the local market and bought tons of fabric to get clothes made at a tailor. The fabric was very cheap and there was so much to choose from. We then walked into a random tailor and were able to get our clothes made. I had previously pulled out a bunch of pictures from magazines of clothes that I wanted to get made. I just showed her the picture and she made some quick sketches and took my measurements and that was it! We just said that we would come and pick it up in three days.
In Da Lat, we stayed at a hotel called the Crazy House-because it was! The architecture looked a lot like Gaudi. It reminded me of a lot stuff I
helmets on!helmets on!helmets on!

This was on the day we went on motorcycles with the Easy Riders.
saw in Barcelona when I was there. My room was called the “termite room” and it was like walking into an elf house. There was a mirror on the ceiling over the bed and on the side of the wall. In the bathroom one of the light bulbs was red, and there was a fake termite’s nest like in the middle of the room-it’s hard to explain without it sounding completely weird… Da Lat was a really cute town, there is a University there and a lake in the central area. There was even a smaller version of the Eiffel Tower in the middle of the town; it made me feel like I was in Paris! The next day we went on a tour in the surrounding area of Da Lat with these motorcycle drivers called the Easy Riders. We each rode on the back of one of their motorcycles and they took us everywhere! We went to flower and vegetable gardens, a silk worm factory and saw how they make silk, a gorgeous waterfall called Elephant Falls, a mushroom farm, a place called Bamboo Village and saw people waving baskets made from bamboo. I learned so much that day
Silk WormsSilk WormsSilk Worms

these are just a lot of silk worms with leaves in trays.
and it was amazing to see the countryside. It’s really fun because there aren’t that many cars in Vietnam, everyone drives motorcycles, so if you needed a taxi you just hopped on the back of a motorcycle!
On the last day, we took the bus back to Ho Chi Minh and went straight to the tailor to pick up our clothes. They were all amazing and fir perfectly!! I got three dresses, a pair of pants, and four tops, only two of my dresses needed to be altered. We all went to a market and did some last minute shopping before we had to be back on the ship. Vietnam was so much fun and really pretty once out of the big cities. I hope everyone is well and I appreciate you guys taking the time to read this!! Miss you all!!! ~Tiana


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Riding Around Da LatRiding Around Da Lat
Riding Around Da Lat

This is us and our guides-the Easy Riders!


7th April 2006

Yo Babee!!
T - you look so Dido like on your motorbike! (hey that rhymes!) Ha Ha! Wow - love the photo of you guys in the countryside! Looks so beautiful (kind of llike you! - beautiful - get it?) Lubba Lubba Lubba U!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb