I'm Here !!!


Advertisement
Uzbekistan's flag
Asia » Uzbekistan » Tashkent
April 10th 2013
Published: April 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm here ! The sun is shining with a high of 27 expected for today . I arrived here this morning at 6:30am and went through the Visa process and customs quite quickly . They didn't require a photo so I didn't need my scarf pics after all .

I THINK Bursa could be a pretty place but it was rainy and really cold so I didn't have the energy to do a lot . The mosque built in 1349 is awesome . It doesn't have the minerets that the Blue and the AyaSophia have ,it has domes ... 20 of them . I was looking at some photos of old Bursa and it really stands out (it is huge ) but the neighbourhood is also full of minarets . It reminded me of the church steeples in Montreal. I've had that sense several times.

Th covered market behind it did live up to my expectations. It too is huge and I understand it is second only to the Grand Bazaar .The difference being this one is not a tourist market but THE place that the locals shop.They truly were/are shopping malls with different products displayed and sold in different areas . The crowds were equally fascinating . I was impressed with how stylish the women were whether they were in moderndress or more traditional clothing . The coats had details which were delightful . Nips ,tucks ,gathers ,flares ,really fun things . The men , not so much . A lot of suits and/or sport jackets with jeans. The children were also dressed to te nines . I think there is money in Bursa .

That night there was 'football' fever in the air .The fans were streaming down the street for 2 hours on their way to an 8pm game wearing their team colours ...green and white...Of course I burst into a few lines of "green is the colour , football is the game" for the boys at the desk . They were amused , or maybe aghast .

A note on eating . Kebap's are good . In higher end places they are never rolled but layered on a plate . Tasty ,but the need to pour bubbling , seasoned butter over it all eludes me . The cucumbers are really tasty and Effes Beer is pretty good as well . I am getting tired of the breakfasts of cheese ,olives ,tomatoes ,cucumbers ,bread ,bread ,bread , hard boiled egg and some kind of sliced meat . Good , but getting boring .

Before I left Bursa there was a flurry of emails and phone calls from the agent who had sold me the bus ticket . As I was leaving the hotel that morning the fellow at the desk handed me the 25Tl !!Wow ... Ahmet was the honourable man I thought . Maybe not to swift but honest . I am so pleased that my instinct about him had been correct.

Getting to Istanbul and the airport was a 5-6 hour task . Not difficult but long . Time did go quickly . I am getting into the tempo of travelling and feel good about being here for the next while . As I am writing this I am getting the strap on my leather pack fixed . It was getting tired of carrying the weight I guess . It will cost @5000somn ($2) .

That ends my Turkey blog for now . I'll write about Uzbek later.

Life is good !!

Love your comments.

Advertisement



11th April 2013

Life is good!
As you often say. So happy for you. Enjoy the next leg of your journey. Sounds like the last leg ended very well. We are trying to get our act together about reservations for the wedding in July. What we are looking for is a Prairie Oasis. But I guess there isn't one. We need camping & hotel spots. It will happen. Enjoy. Love, R&C
11th April 2013

Turkish Breakfasts
Your description of breakfast brought back fond memories of my own trip to Turkey. Yes, the same thing every morning, but very different from what I eat here. Did you also have great yoghurt and honey? My main memory was the bread. Fresh every morning and the best bread I ever ate. Better than in France in my humble opinion. Loving your blog. Wishing you sunny skies and warm days. Jane
11th April 2013

Nips, tucks and colours Oh my!
Dear Aunt Pam, I really enjoyed your descriptions of the mosques, minarets, clothing and food. I bet a couple pieces of chocolate would pep up that breakfast =) Enjoy the warm weather! Stephanie
11th April 2013

Glad you are sorting things out
I was going to say;"Glad you are there" as your title stated but that sounded as though it were better than your being here!!! Hope the warm sun on your bones is doing you good. The bazaar sounds fascinating. Mo
11th April 2013

Uzbek
There at last. Happy for you. I hope you group will be fun and nice, the travelling not to difficult. Have fun exploring. Take in the sun, tomorrow Montréal will be under 10cm of snow.....they say.... Suzanne.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb