Farewell Central Asia


Advertisement
Uzbekistan's flag
Asia » Uzbekistan » Tashkent
August 12th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Coming back to Tashkent felt like coming home. It was nice to be in familiar surroundings again and to know where we were going. The last couple of days were spent getting the last doses of Uzbek food even as I knew I had to make the most of it whilst I was there!

It was a bittersweet goodbye as I loved Uzbekistan but was really ready to leave. Of course the departure wasn't as easy as you would think. When we got to the airport, we learned that the 3 only shops didn't accept local currency!!! I couldn't even spend the last of my sum to buy a bottle of water! The shops would only accept USD, Euro, Pound and Russian roubles!!! Not even credit cards!

Then, when my flight was called to board, I walked over to the area where the board was signalling my flight, close to some stairs that led to the tarmac. Apparently I should have known that at Tashkent airport, you don't head to where the sign is for your flight! The way to our flight was in the opposite direction!

On another note, here is a collection of amusing menus and wine labels we came across on our travels through Central Asia. I was laughing so hard at all of these that I could barely hold the camera still to take pictures of them! I also had to take them very surreptitiously as waiters would often tell us off, and some of the menus clearly stated that no photos were to be taken of the menu (did they think we were going to run off with their creative inventions)?




I Heart Uzbekistan

There was once a boy named Dav
Who showed us his country with love
The mosques, the medressas, the minarets
They are as beautiful as it gets

All the dıfferent food was so "mazali"
We polished off each dish entirely
Then there was the beer and the vodka
Any more and we would have needed a Doctor!

From Tashkent, to Khiva, Bukhara and Samarkand
Each city in their own right was amazingly grand
All in all I love Uzbekistan
To return one day is definitely the plan!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb