Uzbekistan - Khiva


Advertisement
Uzbekistan's flag
Asia » Uzbekistan » Khiva
July 9th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Muezzin BridgeMuezzin BridgeMuezzin Bridge

To a whopping great big minaret
The next day I finally have an easy border crossing and enter Uzbekistan.

I stay in the historic town of Khiva, inside the ancient city walls. After Turkmenistan it feels really nice here - people are friendly, relaxed and interested, and of all the muslim countries I've been to, it's by far the one that ahs best integrated the religion into their lives without it interrupting it.

I walk the streets of the old town, taking lots of photos of mosques and madrassas. I was sorry to only spend such a short amount of time here, but did have my first experience of the Central Asian cullinary delight that is Plov - a greasy fried rice dish containing carrots, with a few pieces of mutton on top - the first of many in the region, no doubt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Khiva's WallKhiva's Wall
Khiva's Wall

Historic, yet tasteful
Scary dollsScary dolls
Scary dolls

These things freak me out


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb