Checking the aftermath


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 19th 2015
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

The day starts with some bad news and then some good news. The house almost us are having a monk making party shortly. As I am sat drinking my breakfast cuppa on the front porch I see them start to bring scaffolding etc to put up some marquees and fear that my last couple of nights here are going to be sleepless. Then came the good news that hey are not actually having the party until the 24/25th March when I will be long gone - hurrah !!!It looks like Jai's nephew Nee is staying around for another day although we don't see a great deal of him as he disappears in search of another nephew Tia who was his childhood friend.I give George the first of two beer boxes full of books to see him through my absence. He will have to get used to not having new books soon as I have so many here now that I don't intend to carry many back with me next time.We both bike out to the farm to have a look at the aftermath from yesterday's fire. Two of the palm trees have suffered a bit but will be fine and will make a full comeback - I guess and I hope - with the arrival of the rains. We give them both a good drink to help them on heir recovery. All of the work that I intended to do at the farm is now complete but I will still pop out each of my remaining three evenings to give these two trees a good drink.Jai's nephew arrives back in the village about 18:00 somewhat worse for wear after drinking dodgy whisky all afternoon. He should really stay the night again but insists he is OK to leave now. In his state a few hundred kilometres in the dark seems a bit risky to me but ...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb