Asparagus and bamboo


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 27th 2015
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

After breakfast I climb the garden wall to go and get some bamboo canes from neighbour Yai Dee's where they have cut down a large clump. Turns out that they aren't very good with lots of them rotten already (I'm fussy about my bamboo these days !) and I only return with half a dozen. Would have saved carrying them from our farm but ...
We bike out to the farm for me to collect some more canes and for Jai to fill a few sacks with rice grass. It is always nice out at the farm first thing in the morning with a bit of air keeping the temperature down and always nice and quiet.
Back at the house I cut up the bamboo and stake out some more asparagus. About 70 done and about 30 more to do ! I hope that Jai actually likes eating the stuff as there is likely to be mountains of it later.
It is really hot this afternoon and I seek refuge under a tree in the back garden which doesn't help a whole lot.
Back to farm for a couple of hours again this evening. Always when I do a job like this I get frustrated by how little sign there is of progress until one day I look and it is nearly finished. Not reached that day yet though.
Stiflingly hot in bed tonight even with the fan on full.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.48s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb