I am haunted by bamboo


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 14th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

It is finals day of the school sports today and the loud music is being broadcast through the village PA system by not much after 06:00 !!
They are asking for more teachers to come and work at the village school because the kids are behind with their work and are having problems learning. Dont want to be radicval but I wonder if they thought about the possibility of getting the teachers they already have to actually do some work, open the school more often and TEACH !!
Another cloudy reasonably comfy morning so leaving Jai baking I go to the farm to tackle a couple of clumps of bamboo that will be impeding the growth of some of our palms in a year or so. A couple of hours later I am about half way through. My experiences with bamboo tell me, however, that the worst is yet to come - the burning off of the stumps and the roots. Will need to wait for the rice to be cut so that I have plenty of dry rice grass to use before I start that.
I go back to the farm in the evening to finish off the bamboo and am surprised to see the back of it in the one day.
No mains water again all day today so another cold shower tonight.
Pad comes to visit just as we are getting ready for bed. He wants Jai to go with him to her new land tomorrow to begin clearing the weeds from around her cassava before they start on the rice harvest.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb