Wot no rice ?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 10th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

Feel a bit better this morning although still a long way from feeling well.
Bike into Phon Thong to collect the wedding invitations which are printed and boxed up waiting for us. Stop at the internet and check my e-mail and the weekend rugby results then have to go to the bank. This is always a new experience and today is no different.
I need to change some money and have a pack of 20 pound notes from the bank in England. I have changed these at my bank here before with no problems but today they tell me they cant take a 20 pound note anymore and I will have to go to a different bank. Bike to the Bangkok bank a few hundred yards along the road and yes, they will take them. She studies each note carefully and any with a faintest trace of writing on she removes and gives me back. I am beginning to think that there wont be many left to exchange but... Eventually get some Thai cash and return to my bank to pay it into my account for the privilege of which I have to pay them about 1GBP.
It is mid morning when we bike back to Khamnadie and already it is very hot.
I havent seen our neighbour Deu for a few days and when we ask discover that he has been in hospital for two nights. We need some rice processing and will have to go elsewhere. Wait for the sun to drop a little then bike to Jai's brother Yut in the neighbouring village of Coke Lam about 10km away with a 30kg sack of rice sat between my legs. We get our rice processed and even bring back a sack of the husks to feed to the ducks. Make my weekly phonecall to mum whilst we are waiting.
George pops in to say goodbye as he is leaving first thing tomorrow morning and isnt sure if he will be back before we leaves - he hopes not.
We have picked a small bag of tomatoes every night since I have been back either from the garden or the farm and tonight is no exception. The big tomatoes are forming nicely and hopefully will be ready to pick before we leave. The rest of the garden is looking a bit dry and sad now.
Make my weekly phonecall to mum.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb