School sports - again


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 8th 2013
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

Into Phon Thong this morning for our weekly shop instead of going tomorrow as usual. Jai needs a big net to use when threshing the rice at the farm and some wellies to wear when cutting it in the first place.
When we get back to the village we bike out to the farm for a progress check but it is definitely not ready, not even close to ready to me eyes. I havent seen anyone cutting yet anywhere so it looks as though it is going to be a late harvest this year. That would be right !! Each year I have been here the rice season has been over by about the 18th Nov so I thought I was pretty safe in booking us a week away starting 23rd Nov. Now I am not so sure !!
Mid afternoon go back to the school and watch the young lads playing takraw; a kind of volleyball where it appear you can use any part of the body except for the hands and arms. They cant read or write but certainly have some talents. Cant see it being enough to get them jobs in later life but ... The kids put together some really good rallies until I get the camera out.
Early evening George pops in to say that he cant make it on Sunday. With only a delegate from England and one from Germany I am not sure if we will make a quorum or not ?!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb