Monks by the million ...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 24th 2013
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

... well, a few hundred anyway.
I wake up at 01:30 to watch Champions League football as Jai has told me it is an English team on this week. I was none too pleased to find Real Madrid v Juventus and lasted about 5 mins before heading back to sleep.
No gas this morning so more traditionally Jai steams the rice over our charcoal burner. Take the opportunity to hard boil a couple of eggs in the water at the same time to go with my breakfast toast. When the rice has finished the charcoal is still nice and hot so we BBQ some meat for lunchtime in case the gas hasnt shown up by then. Come to do the washing up and discover that we have no water this morning either. Still, at least the sun is shining !
I leave Jai heading off to find some leaves to dye her hair and I bike into Phon Thong and the internet.
When I leave the internet to head into town for some shopping I find that my usual road is blocked by a police truck and I can hear music. I assume it is one of the endless school parades that they always seem to be having here. The kids can march and bang drums better than they can read and write !! As always I try to avoid contact with the local police so I turn off down a side alley to rejoin the main road further along. When I get there I am met by a pick-up truck with a large Buddha in the back leading a procession of monks, walking in single file, along the side of the road. I glance in the direction they are coming from and the column of monks disppears into the distance; there must be hundreds of them. I move along the road a bit further where I can cross over for a better look and ask someone what is happening and where they are going. She tells me a name of somewhere that I dont know and when I ask her how far it is it appears that she doesnt really know either. I watch them all pass by then return to the centre of the town for my bit of shopping. Quite a pleasant interruption for a change.
George pops by to exchange some books and John arrives just after he leaves.
We go to collect some gas late afternoon but they still dont have any and it looks likely to be tomorrow afternoon at the earliest now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb