Time for the mosquitoes to die


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 4th 2012
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

I bike out to the farm this morning after breakfast to pick a couple of papaya and to cut yet more coconut tree leaves. Whilst cutting down one the branches a coconut fell off the tree just missing me. Reckon that would have been a new one for the Gloucester Coroner; "death from coconut falling on the bonce" !! Anyway, we now have a coconut to use with a curry for dinner tonight so I guess I get the last laugh.
The last of our big orchid flowers fell off this morning but fortunately it has been replaced by the first of our small orchids coming into flower.
Later on in the morning a woman from a neighbouring village stopped in to ask Jai if she would help to teach her some English and if so how much she would charge her. It appears that her Ausie boyfriend is coming here next month and she wanted to be able to communicate with him better. I'm keeping out ofit which I have found to nearly always be the best option with things around here.
In the early afternoon they came around the village killing all the mosquitoes. Armed with a petrol 'ghostbusters' style weapon they spray foul smelling smoke everywhere - and I mean everywhere. Couldnt see a thing in the house for a good 1/2 hour although I did keep our bedroom door closed until the worst had cleared. Didnt make me feel too good so can only imagine what it does for the mossies, still, they are difficult to feel sorry for.
As I had the camera out for the extermination I took the opportunity to walk around thegarden with it. Got over half way round and the batteries ran out so had to start again.
Nipped out in the evening for a phone call back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb