Koh Lipe


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 8th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Koh Lipe beachesKoh Lipe beachesKoh Lipe beaches

Beautiful...
Geo: 6.4893, 99.3051


So after Danny left for India I planned on getting back to Malaysia although I had a few days left on my visa which I had to extend (yet again). I met up with Steve again who Danny and I spent a few days with before Chiang Mai, and we decided to travel south together for a few weeks on a mini adventure, I think Danny and I sold the whole Langkawi experience to him!


Steve and I decided bizarrely enough to go from Bangkok to Langkawi via Koh Lipe... we booked an overnight bus to Satun and started finding our way out to the islands which then entailed a local bus for 30 km, a song hew out to the port, then a speed boat which stopped at various islands on the way which was a long, long journey but well worthwhile.

Some of the islands on the way out were really impressive and I enjoyed not only the incredible clarity of the water but the beautiful flour like sands which are stunning. Some of the islands and beaches on the way are really stunning and Iloved being on this huge speed boat
SwordfishSwordfishSwordfish

Check out his funky fingers
which is filled mainly of local tourist to the extent that Steve and I are only two out of six westerners on board, the other 50-60 on board are all Local/Asian tourists I would say.

The journey out was fan-tas-tic... I spent half the time with my head stuck outside enjoying the scenery and the views of the beautiful Thai Islands and stunning beaches and white sands. I'm delighted when we stop at a few islands on route and I enjoyed Koh Tarantao and Lover's Gate in particular. I can't believe how clear the water is here it's pure and the sand feels almost like flour it's so fine and smooth... I've never seen this before. I loved the journey out and was delighted on arrival at Koh Lipe which was straight onto the beach where we began our search for accommodation. Strangely enough there are many places all full and it does take us a bit of time to find somewhere but we're rewarded in the end with a beach bungalow which we shared which was ideal.

So our Koh Lipe adventures begin and it didn't disappoint. Between the beautiful beaches, soft sands and clear water this is an ideal spot which I instantly love... this would be the perfect honeymoon spot and you never know I may return some day! Steve and I tour the island and it's easy to walk around in a fairly short timescale, realistically a few hours would do it which is nice, there's no cars here so transport is either a motorbike taxi or walking which is fine.

There's a main Walking Street which has all the food restaurants and bars on it and it actually takes you from one side of the island to the other which is great. One night I was delighted by a restaurant which was serving fresh swordfish steaks for 100 baht which were delicious and actually the best fish I think I've ever had... what a find! Other nights we would sit at a beach bar or over at the Castaways which was near our bungalow and enjoy a chilled beer while looking out to the incredible scenery. One of the main highlights was finding an incredibly remote beach which was stunning with views out to island and clear clear water... it's a hard life sometimes lazing about the beach for a day although I don't do it too much as I would just burn in the heat.

I met one of my friends from Langkawi who strangely spotted me on the beach by my dress... don't know if that a good sign but he's a lovely young guy and now working on the speedboats from Langkawi over and he gives us a wee bit of history of the island which actually closes down for 6 months every year due to the treacherous water conditions... it's almost impossible to get over to the island in bad weather which I hadn't thought of before.

We found a neat couple bars to hang out in and generally enjoyed out stay before we head onto Langkawi and for me back home. We arrange the speedboat and organise with Immigration to leave which is crazy, we ended up at the Immigration office on the beach being checked out of the country before we jumped on a huge speedboat, it's a great border crossing and an extremely memorable experience.

I love the return trip to Langkawi and I feel strangely pleased that I'm heading home, I've only felt like this in a couple of places and Langkawi is definitely one of them. There's only four people on the boat on the way over and I'm delighted that I managed to have a wee shot of the speedboat on the way... well you know if you don't ask you don't get!

Langkawi here I come... looking forward to seeing everyone again... too many photos of Koh Lipe to follow but it was stunning.



Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb