I spent today playing with tigers, yep!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
June 19th 2008
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 18.9167, 98.7891

Today I spent the day at Tiger Kingdom in Mae Rim, its close to the Four Seasons and a little like it! I'm not used to seeing animal parks with five star bathrooms, and I was pleasantly surprised! It was only B300 ($9-ish US) to spend a half an hour playing with these little guys, unrestricted! Not the PC controls of the west, here it was just me playing in the nursery with the kids and one aid. She was great, taking pictures and even saved me at one point when one of the little guys got a little to familiar and wouldn't let go of a bite. There is a restaurant with seating surrounding the well laid out play area for the tigers. So after I played with the little ones I washed up and then had a nice lunch while watching the parents play and frolic in the play pen.

I took about a million pictures with the little guys (I only posted 17 of them here, but even that is too much sorry =) and then I took a million more of the mom and dad playing with a red ball in the pool and on some playground stumps and a balance beam made out of a big log. It was a blast to be so close to them and watch them play.

I could have spent another 30 minutes in the enclosure playing with the adults, but after the kids were so strong and sort of kicked my a$$ a bit, I thought I'd steer clear of the ones with the really big teeth. Totally fun way to spend and afternoon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



29th August 2008

From Mom Saw this note on your page. ' This is a featured travel blog! This is a top pick!' with a gold star. Your blog is so impressive, as is your courage with tigers!!! Love, Mom

Tot: 0.714s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb