Off to SEA


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 12th 2011
Published: September 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

LeavingLeavingLeaving

back pack and day pack
It all started with a book. John found an old copy of the Lonely Planet Greater Mekong at a garage sale. A guide on the countries crossed by the Mekong river. It became my bedtime reading for weeks. Stories of lost empires found, tragic bloody wars, genocide, and natural disasters. More than enough reason to inspire wanderlust in anyone. It wasn't long before the images started stirring in my head: the slowly meandering brown river, soaring temples at dawn, colorful markets, bustling cities, deserted beaches and a myriad of people whose way of life have been intertwined with the "mother river" of Southeast Asia.
I also felt that I have some unfinished business in Thailand. We loved Bangkok during our short trip there last year. It left me longing to see the rest of the country especially the hill tribes in the north and the stunning beaches in the south.
So my bag is packed (almost) and I will be setting off in a couple of days. Unlike our travels in Europe there is no set itinerary. Just a rough plan that can be thrown out should the travel fates intervene. I will begin my journey with a few days in Bangkok, from there I hope to make it to Cambodia, Vietnam, Chiang Mai and of course the beaches of southern Thailand. Maybe.
As one of my favorite quotes on travel says:

A good traveler has no fixed plan, and is not intent on arriving.




Advertisement



16th September 2011

Have a safe trip and enjoy!!!

Tot: 0.465s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb