And the adventure begins...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 1st 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Ko Phangan!

I arrived safe and sound after a looooooooong but very comfortable flight and Cristina was there to meet me at the airport. She paged me over the intercom ahaha. It was rather funny to hear a Thai woman attempt to pronounce my name. We managed to find Chantal the same way as well a half hour later and cabed to our very odd hostel in Bangkok. It was certainly not what we were expecting but it was a bed with AC in the room...so who can complain for $4.

I woke up the next morning feeling kinda funny..I was sick to my stomach and basically stayed in for the rest of the day. The girls went out exploring and I slept and slept and slept.
Maybe I ate something funny on the plane? Who knows.

By the next morning when we left for Surat Thani, I felt much better. We flew down. Took about an hour. Then we bused to the ferry which then took us to Ko Samui. We stayed at the cutest little guest house right on this nice (almost) secluded beach...with the cutest little Thai ladies running the joint. Great food. Decent enough accomodations.
In the morning, I led a little yoga class on the beach which the little old Thai lady joined in mid way through. It was so adorable.
We made our way back to the ferry port and hopped on to Ko Phangan, where we are now...and staying for another 3 or 4 days.

Our guest house here is a scream. Its super out of the way (about a 20-30min walk from the town) and our actual guesthouse is up a super steap hill (at least I'm getting a bit of a workout??). Its the most rustic cabin ever...but its got character. And the view of the sea is unreal. The sunset too. Wow.

We made it here for the monthly Full Moon Party on Jan 30th. Pretty wild. Its a huuuuuge party on the beach with music, lights, drinks served to you in sand buckets with straws and ice...and a WHOLE lot of people. We arranged a meeting place in case we got seperated. Responsible of us!
Anyways, its what you would expect. A ton of drunk people doing ridiculous things until the wee hours of the morning. Except for us of course....ahem....I was tucked into bed by 12am. Ahahah. No. SIX AM! Ridiculous. We actually didnt realize what time it was until then. Pretty wild.

The next day we just lounged on the beach all day. Exactly what the doctor ordered.
We had a nice little dinner last night on the beach, with Jack Johnson playing in the background...it was just perfect. So relaxing.

Today, the girls have gone to start day 1 of their open water scuba diving certification. So I'm solo today. Which is fine by me. Gives me a chance to take some pics, cruise around, write to you fine folk, and just kick back.

Since I'm sure people will be asking....(mainly Dad. haha)...the food is excellent. But as I was telling Tim, I have yet to find Pad Thai that is as good as Siam Kitchen in Ottawa!! COME ON! I'm in the land of Pad Thai. So I'm still on the hunt.
The washrooms are weird. Its like a whole in the ground with a...thing over top of it, so you essentially have to squat super low to do your thing. I'm getting used to it though....
The people are really friendly so far. They are so happy to cater to you, its unreal. Anything to make your experience more enjoyable. Quite a difference from Central America.

Not much else to report.

From here, we're going to Ko Sak National Park, which is essentially a rain forest/jungle. We're going to try to stay on these floating bungalows on the river inside the park. Sounds pretty cool.

Anyways, that's it for now.
I hope everyone is doing well...
I hear its SUPER cold in Ottawa.....SUCKAAAAAAAS (Jaci...throw darts at my face. I'll understand. Shit, I didnt leave you a picture of myself....ahahaha!).

More to come later (probably not for a week...unless there is internet access in the park).

Love Ashley.

Advertisement



1st February 2010

You lucky *bleep*
I'm soooo wishing that I were with you right now!! Not only for the company ;) but because it sounds so relaxing, exactly what I need... Hope you'll have a great time in the jungle!! That sounds awesome, floating in a bungalow on a river!?!Keep us updated, I love reading this! :)
3rd February 2010

picture
no worries ashley..i made a picture of you which is ever to realistic and now i am throwing darts at your face ...but...your too drunk to notice!!!
6th February 2010

surfs up
Glad to hear you arrived safely and everyone hooked up. Hope the open water certification went well for the girls.
6th February 2010

Sounds great so far!!
Hey Ash! You are really giving me the bug to go to Thailand!! I look forward to hearing more so add me to your blog ok?
8th February 2010

I cant see who this is?!?!
8th February 2010

Who is this?! I cant see....

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb