Seasickness and Trekking


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

In West Railey we stayed at Rapala bungalows. To get to our mats on a floor with a bucket flushing toilet, you had to climb what felt like a million stairs. It was worth it though because it felt totally remote and the hammocks were exactly what I needed.

Here we met two of our favourite Canadians, Mike and Jenny, who were honeymooning. Their honey moon suit made us look like homeless bums on Rideau Street but luckily they shared the wealth and allowed us to hang out in their spa and attempt to suck up the beauty.

Our first full day there we decided to go snorkling at Phi Phi islands (this is where the movie The Beach was filmed). We met our group and got on to our large boat at which point we were briefed and told “if you have a history of seasickness please take a pill” as I do not have a history of sickness in general I opted out of the pill.
This would be my first stupid decision in Thailand. One hour into the trip I am green. My arms have gone completely numb and I am sitting with my head in a bag. (No I didn’t just want to puke overboard due to my intense social phobia of puking). Thankfully I kept it down. The first dive I spent balancing myself on a rock watching other people snorkel. By the time the second dive came around I was good to go and actually participated. It was gorgeous. The fish were amazing and we saw a giant turtle.

Once back on dry land I gave into the gravol and fell asleep instantly.

The next day feeling invigorated I met up with a new found friend from South Africa who suggested a climb to the lagoon. To get there you climb up the mountain and then back down into the mountain. Of course I was up to the climb as I go trekking in OZ all the time. Equipped with my bathing suit, shorts and flip flops we started the lagoon mission. Instantly I realized I was inappropriately dressed because this was a proper climb. There were points where you had nothing to help you scale the rocks but a rope.

I will take this opportunity to point out that Thailand does not have safety rules. Everything you do is at your own risk and I will admit there were points on this climb where I doubted my ability to pull my own body weight up and thought “who will find me?”.

Luckily, we made it to the lagoon and it was well worth the trip. It was a small pool of water surrounded by rock. It was completely still, quite and felt like my own private secret (Until the Europeans climbed down and jumped in)

By the time we made it back out I was feeling very proud of my athletic ability as well as completely euphoric that I had seen something so beautiful.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb