South East Thailand - Koh Tao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 12th 2007
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Snake charmerSnake charmerSnake charmer

At the zoo in Bangkok. Very scary!
Pat and I thought we would step out of the sun, but only for a while! Thailand has been everything that we were looking for... and more! When we arrived in Bangkok we were both amazed at how clean and industrial it was. I guess it was just a huge difference from India. We only spent one day there and took a boat tour of the city. We stopped along the river at a few places including some markets, a little zoo and the King's palace. It was a great way to spend the day after our long night of traveling from Cochin, India. We will be heading back to Bangkok for a couple of days at the end of our trip to see more of it. I heard the night life is something to see!

That night we got on our train and were on our way to Koh Tao. This island is paradise! Not to mention it is the place of our engagement! Pat asked me to marry him when we arrived here on the Sairee beach at sunset. It was perfect! I was completely surprised and have never been more happy in my life! So that was
Boat driverBoat driverBoat driver

Pat and the boat driver in Bangkok. He didn't speak English but was a very nice man.
an excellent way to start our beach vacation! We have both been on cloud 9 since than, feeling like we are on our honeymoon!

Our second day we rented mopeds to tour the island with. That turned out to be a mistake on my part! I ended up bailing on a bumpy dirt road and scraped up my knee and hand. Not good for swimming in salt water! Anyways, from than on we decided one bike was enough and I rode on the back of Pat's. The island is beautiful. We have spent a couple of our days lying on a small beach with crytal clear water. It has been so relaxing. Our nights have been at the larger main beach, Sairee.

Today we spent the day on a snorkling trip. It was very cool. We saw so many different fish that would surround us while we were swimming. Unfortunately, while we were stopped at an island a tide came up fast and soaked everything we had, including our camera! It isn't working at the moment but we have our fingers crossed that it will work when it dries. Please!

We are heading to Koh Phi Phi
EngagementEngagementEngagement

Pat and I toasting our engagement.
tonight. It is on the west side of Thailand. We heard it is great there, although I have a hard time believing anywhere can be better than here! Koh Phi Phi does have the beach from the movie 'The Beach' so I am guessing that will be pretty breath-taking.

Well, it is sunset which means it is time for us to go eat bbq Red Snapper on the beach! We are in heaven!

We'll tell you all about the rest of our trip next week!

Love Laurie and Pat




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

RelaxingRelaxing
Relaxing

Me floating around reading my book. Could I be any more relaxed?
Snorkling Snorkling
Snorkling

Pat on the snorking boat. We have under water pictures will share when we get home!


12th January 2007

Hey
When did Pat get chest hair?????
12th January 2007

Congratulations!!!!
Congratulations guys! Looks like you are having such a good time and you both look so happy! I'm not really sure if you will read this . . . so I guess I will email you my congratulations too! Trish
12th January 2007

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!
What a place to get engaged!! Awesome guys!!! So happy for you!! So glad you're enjoying yourselves, Ko Phi Phi is gorgeous!! No motorized vehicles allowed! Enjoy! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Tot: 0.457s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb