The Dogs of Lanna


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand
September 28th 2012
Published: September 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Underfoot in the Chiang Saen MarketUnderfoot in the Chiang Saen MarketUnderfoot in the Chiang Saen Market

Dogs always seem to be at home in the way
After getting bitten by a maltempered temple dog in Chiang Mai province over a month ago, I felt a need to start photographing dogs. First I did so on the road and then whenever I thought I had a good image. So this is a collection of some dogs I was able to photograph in the Northern Thai provinces of Chiang Rai, Phayao, Nan and Phrae-once called Lanna. Ironically, I don't have any pictures of the dog that bit me or any dogs from Chiang Mai.



Thai dogs seen on the road are often a sad lot. People feed them but don't look after them very carefully quite often. I watched several times as men and even children threw things and cursed at dogs that found themselves 'in the way' on the road. On the other hand, I met a great number of Thais who dote on their dogs and other pets. This is not a blog attempting for sympathy. It is more an attempt to appreciate some aspect of life from the dogs I met.



I hope you like them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Phu Chi FaPhu Chi Fa
Phu Chi Fa

I love these two. They ate breakfast with me every morning in Phu Chi Fa.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb