Karen wedding


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Sangkhlaburi
April 30th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So here I am back. Few days ago I tried to download those pics which you couldn’t see-just a black space, but it did not work again. I will not give up so sooner or later you will see those;-)
Since I have been back in Sangkhlaburi and I had found out Tom (our coordinator) was not coming back to Thailand caused by malaria I have been all that time at the project. Everything is going well. I have done the malaria test also (just in case) and the result was negative, hope as long as possible-touch wood. Because all this ‘surprises’ I decided to leave the project earlier as I do not want to be alone over there (another volunteer Nela who I am staying with now is leaving also for just few months). My last day in Sangkhlaburi at Generation Journey project will be at 18th May and on 19th both of us we are going to Bangkok. I decided then to do a diving course on Koh Tao and after that I will probably go to Chang Mai (north oh Thailand). That is my plan for today though but of course everything can change in a meanwhile. Since I was back I was finishing our BBQ (the same which Clint and I started few weeks ago).Unfortunately I haven’t finished completely yet as at the project there is always something little going on but I am planning to finish it maybe tomorrow;-) And then we will invite few people for a party in the village;-))))
Today we went to join a little crowd as wedding guests! We were invited by our friend whose sister was a bride. It was very interesting event, funny thing was that during ceremony the couple looked so modest and shy then it looked like maybe they weren’t happy to get married or maybe it was not their will to do that. They weren’t smiling or looking at each other even. Just after ceremony all guests were shaking hands or kissing the bride and groom and straight after crowd followed the couple who went to their bedroom! Nela and I we weren’t sure what was going on but after we found out we looked at each other in a funny way - with a question mark in a mind - are they going to consume their marriage right now? Well no, they did not do that however they sat on their mat in their bedroom and started to kiss at the cheeks and everyone were making photos and comments including those with the instructions for the groom;-)))))))) Then we had a meal, mostly different kinds of meat with rice. We have noticed how different food they had; there was a significant difference between Karen and Thai food. Thai would have more vegetables and fruits probably.
And now I am sitting on a friend’s balcony (with electricity) and I am typing all this and later I will go to internet café to send it through. So when you see this I will be probably at the village already just chilling out - we decided to have a relaxing day today…and to have our nails done finally;-)))
Lots of love for all of you
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb