I crossed the bridge :)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
June 27th 2010
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 14.02, 99.53

We got up an early and did a bit of packing then went down to breakfast for the last time. It was rather sad but in a way I was happy because since we've been back from Kanchanaburi in 2006 and I didn't cross the bridge the whole way because I'm petrified of bridges I've wanted to cross it and today was the day. We had a quick breakfast because mum and I wanted to have a quick swim. The pool was empty and very nice but we couldn't spend long there because we had to do last minute packing. So within 15 minutes we were back in the room.

10 minutes later we went down to reception to check-out then catch the taxi we organised two days ago. It was a different taxi but it knew where to take us and was the same price so we went with him. The drive up took 2 and a bit hours but was very nice and there was no stop and starting as there normally is.

The reception of the hotel is very nice looking but the second floor (us) isn't so nice but still good. Our room is bigger than at the Manhattan and is pretty good except for the mouldy shower and no safe. But the beds are soft. We then went for a walk to find some lunch but its Sunday so everything's shut except 7eleven and a restaurant next to it so we decided to get something from 7eleven for lunch and the restaurant for dinner. Nana and Pa got sausages in little rolls, mum got a chicken pie and I just had saladas that we bought from Australia. Lunch was followed by the pool and again you had to go down stairs to get to it. It was weird you'd go outside on level 2 then across a roof then down some stairs...? The pool is very nice and has a spa and an incredibly hot shallow (30cm) pool joining the big one. The pool goes from 1.15m to 3m very fast and is almost all slopped. Around the edges are pictures of things around this area like Hellfire Pass, the River Kwai and Erawan Falls.

Then it was the time I'd been dreading but waiting for - the bridge. We crossed the road and hailed a pick-up truck (a ute that's had seats put around the side and a barrier so you can't fall out) to take us to the River Kwai. It cost 100B and took us as close as you can get. We then got out and walked round the corner and there it was - a massive black steal bridge. I was shaking so much but before I knew it Nana had one hand and mum had my other and we started marching across while Nana sung a train song. But that didn't last long. Everything was going fine, well as fine as it gets when you're extremely scared and then people in front of us start yelling 'TRAIN' forcing us to move to one of the side bits while it went through, which is extremely scary. The bridge already moves a bit but when a train goes past, even if it is very slow, it moves heaps. We got to the end, just and stopped for a little bit then turned around again. This time at all the balconies we stopped to have a photo and again the train went past. One time I was stepping onto the balcony and there were 3 Thai people there but I could just squeeze in until one leant back and nearly pushed me over the edge. The bridge really wasn't made for walking on, the sides are quite far away so they won't stop you from falling in and there are cracks in the ground. There was a man on the bridge and he guessed we came from Australia and started playing Aussie songs! I made it. I got over and back although mums hand was very sore, my tummy felt sick (well - still does) and I have incredibly deep nail marks on my hands. But I made it across and that's all that matters.

Afterwards we went and looked round the market and Nana bought me a little broach with 2 elephants on it as a congratulations and something to remember the bridge by. Then there was the hard job of finding a ride back, the guy we came up with said he'd meet us in the same place 2 hours from then but that meant we'd have to wait 45 minutes and he'd given us his number but we couldn't work out how to use the telephones. So we walked round for a while then we came across a motorbike with a side cart. It would comfortably fit 3 Asians but 4 Aussies? It did - just. Mum was closest to the bike; I was in the corner being squished by Pa who was next to me and then Nana at the end. It was an interesting experience, but I don't know that I'd do it again. We turned onto the main road but that was going the wrong way so we were just cruisin' the opposite way to all the traffic until he was able to change over to the correct side when there was a gap in the traffic. In the end we made it to the hotel and got a business card from the driver who likes to be known as 'Mr Duck'- we can't work it out.

We finished off the day with dinner at the joint next to the 7eleven. I just had fried rice as I was still feeling sick and everyone else share plain rice, a chicken dish and a beef dish which they loved.

Oh and we get 3 hours free wireless in the hotel room per day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 143, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



28th June 2010

It looks like you are have a great time so far, keep it coming so Josh knows what he is in for, keep up the good work.Rick
28th June 2010

We laughed so much about your adventures, but I want to know, hat happened to the 2 Magnums that we bought at lunch time?
28th June 2010

Well done Mel very proud of you I knew you could do it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
28th June 2010

You were so so brave - you should be proud of yourself
2nd July 2010

Good on you Mel for crossing the Bridge, not once, but twice!!

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb