Pong Leuk Village with WWF


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

You may remember my previous visit to this remote Karien Village on the border of Mynamar (Burma). Last time, I was only there for a few hours. This time I had permission to stay for 5 days, in order to find out more about what is needed here, & to write up a volunteer specification for future volunteers. I also had the chance to get involved with a lesson at the local school.

The WWF are working with the local population to educate them about conservation. There is a big problem here as they slash & burn the rain forest to make way for their crops. They are also close to the habitat to the last surviving Siamese Crocodile population in Thailand (which is something I had at the back of my mind when showering in the river - natures own bathroom!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

.....and the road very rough!.....and the road very rough!
.....and the road very rough!

It takes around 4 hours when the conditions are good.
On the way, we met an Army PatrolOn the way, we met an Army Patrol
On the way, we met an Army Patrol

They very kindly allowed me to ride their bike the rest of the way. Kim (pictured here) was trusting enough to go on the back. A very brave man indeed!
We spoke with the teacherWe spoke with the teacher
We spoke with the teacher

He then anounced to the class that I would give them an english lesson. I was totally unprepared, but gave it my best shot.
I think they were very curious to see a farangI think they were very curious to see a farang
I think they were very curious to see a farang

As I said in my previous entry, I am only the 3rd foreigner to ever visit the village.


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb