A close encounter deep in the rain forest


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kaeng Krachan NP
April 9th 2008
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have just returned from a 2 day expedition, deep into the rain forest, which proved to be both exiting & very frightening!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Wadding through rivers & following animal trails to go deep into the heart of the forest.Wadding through rivers & following animal trails to go deep into the heart of the forest.
Wadding through rivers & following animal trails to go deep into the heart of the forest.

Torential showers soaked us to the skin, & due to the humidity, it was almost impossible to get dry, even during the dry periods.
My bed for the nightMy bed for the night
My bed for the night

A hammock slung between 2 trees, covered by a simple fly sheet to keep off the rain. Unfortunately, due to bad preparation (by me), the rain had found its way into my kit & all of my dry clothes & my sleeping bag were soaked. I would have to sleep in the clothes that I had on.
Whilst the food was being prepared, something was heard prowling around the camp.Whilst the food was being prepared, something was heard prowling around the camp.
Whilst the food was being prepared, something was heard prowling around the camp.

To be on the safe side, a warning shot was fired to scare off any potential dangerous animal, although the Rangers said that it could just have been a deer.
Whilst dozing off to sleep, I was aware that something was walking through to camp........Whilst dozing off to sleep, I was aware that something was walking through to camp........
Whilst dozing off to sleep, I was aware that something was walking through to camp........

With all of the jungle noises, & the total blackness of the forest, I had found it very difficult to sleep. Even though 1 ranger stayed on guard for the most dangerous part of the night, with his shot gun ready, (It was much more unnearving than I imagined that it would be). There is real danger here from wild Elephants. Sensing movement, I peared 0ver the top of my hammock
.... I saw to my amazement, a black Leopard silloeted agains the glow of the fire.... I saw to my amazement, a black Leopard silloeted agains the glow of the fire
.... I saw to my amazement, a black Leopard silloeted agains the glow of the fire

I have since been told that this is a very rare sighting.
Later on, after eventually falling asleep, I awoke to a scuffle in the middle of the campsite.Later on, after eventually falling asleep, I awoke to a scuffle in the middle of the campsite.
Later on, after eventually falling asleep, I awoke to a scuffle in the middle of the campsite.

It was a porcupine scavenging for food, & although no threat, caused my pulse to race as I was very startled.
Some of the insects were not so concerned about biting!Some of the insects were not so concerned about biting!
Some of the insects were not so concerned about biting!

Although the red ants proved particularly adept at finding their way onto bare skin and biting mercilessly!


15th April 2008

Great pics
Wer you serious about frog curry or have you been winding us up? Dorota and I are off tommorow to Amsterdam to see Bozena andJan- we shall all be talking about you >Great headgear.
16th April 2008

Frog curry.
No t a wind up, unlike the french, we ate the whole thing, not just the back legs.
16th April 2008

I am a celebrity
I am a celebrity – get me out of HERE !!!!
16th April 2008

WOW!!
OK sooooo jealous. Wow can't believe you saw that black leopard. I've always wanted to go to the rain forest. Bet its was scary but exciting too. H
16th April 2008

Wow!
I'm in awe of the experiences you are having - and what a beautiful cat. You must have been quaking in your boots though! I think you are getting a little closer to nature than I would be comfortable with, but I have a lot of admiration for you. You'll have to apply for one of those reality TV 'I'm in a jungle, get me out of here' shows when you get back - you'd ace it! And eating frogs - hmmmmm maybe not!
8th April 2011
.... I saw to my amazement, a black Leopard silloeted agains the glow of the fire

this is a cool photo keep the good work

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb