Railay


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
February 7th 2010
Published: March 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


After meeting some travelers at the bus stop I followed their recommendation to Rah Leh Beach, 30min boat ride off the coast, the place is famous for its amazing cliffs which climbers visit from around the world. At this stage I was completely exhausted and in a long skirt in 35 degrees with a back pack weighing WAY too much! I dragged myself around the island looking for accommodation only to be recommended up 47 stairs to suit my budget (which turned out to still be too expensive). I have a picture of the dog thats sits a top these stairs waiting for people to get up!

The bungalows I stayed in were soo cute, although I was woken up every morning by the roosters that lived in the area. The island was amazing though and it reminded my alot of Port Douglas. It was a very small island, no cars, which alot of day tourists visited. I met Amy a one of the bars overlooking the bay and we organized to share a hut to keep costs down. During the next few days I went out on a boat with some guys I met. They wanted to free climb a cliff that was coming out of the water, once you get up you can jump back into the ocean. While we were there another 2 boats pulled up and some professional climbers started free climbing the wall which was awesome! they got so far up they had to climb back down as it was too far to jump into the ocean! We went onto another beach were there was a monkey stealing everyones bags and raiding them for food.. it was quite funny to watch these guys trying to get their bag back!

Afternoons were spent lounging in a bar watching a sunset or eating at a few of the only cafes on the island for around $2. Sunsets on both side of the island were absolute amazing and lasted hours! We spent most of our time at a bar with a good pool table, losts of UV lights and an excellent few singers which covered every song you can imagine or request. After a few days of this each day did end up turning into the same as the one before so we thought it best be time to move on......


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb