Sailing Malmurie


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
April 25th 2014
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 7.97501, 98.3515

What an incredible experience... I left my bike in Bukit Lawang to join my friend Drew who kindly invited me to go sailing from Phuket, Thailand to Langkawi, Malaysia on his stunning 47ft Vagabond Cutter Ketch.

Although a bit apprehensive as I've never been out sailing before, the whole trip turned out to be a magical experience that I will never forget. Thank you Drew for your kindness, patience and clear instructions on the whole trip down... and boy'o'boy what fun we had.

I met Drew at Royal Phuket Marina in Thailand and found his boat by asking some of the local guys who were working. I couldn't believe the size of it... I don't know what I was expecting but it wasn't this!!! I met Drew in Langkawi last year and although he was in the nearby Talega Marina, I never managed to catch up with him again before I left which was disappointing, so I was delighted by his offer and at last a chance to see 'Malmurie'.

She is a stunning yacht, with a master cabin en-suite, a large galley, comfortable lounge area, workroom, and a large bow cabin en-suite (yep I'm getting round to some of the terminology... well slowly), I couldn't believe this was going to be my home for the next few months. So after getting acquainted it was time to start sailing, the boat had been out on the hard stand so I knew there would be some teething problems but Drew swiftly sorted everything out which made for a comfortable, worry free adventure.

We left the Royal Phuket Marina with friends Cathy and her daughter Eva who we would drop off further south in Phuket at Chalong, and I was glad of the distraction and company on the start of our trip although I've no doubt it put Drew under more pressure on his first day back out at sea. Instead of getting the sails up though we motored to Koh Lon first of all where Drew took us into the beach by dingy, and enjoyed lunch together followed by swimming. There were quite a few tourists on the island but I was in stitches at a Chinese couple with matching bathing suits before she toddled down the beach with her armbands and sarong.

I was a bit wary being anchored off and getting ashore by dingy but it's all getting to know the sailing life and with Drew's encouragement and calmness he has us all over and back safe. After lunch and enjoying the island we went back to the boat an motored onwards to Chalong where Drew and I would spend our first night on-board, although excited my nerves hadn't quite settled yet. The journey over through the many islands was stunning, already I have learned a great deal and as we anchored off for the night I was pretty relieved. After spending a fair bit of time on the boat we took the girls to the mainland and joined them for dinner before returning to the anchor but by this time I was pretty excited of staying on the boat.

The rockin'n'rollin of the sea sends you into a beautiful sleep and I woke up much happier that I had survived the night and all was safe. I was worried about hitting the other boats at anchor during the night but all was safe and calm and a beautiful way to start our adventure.

We ended up anchored off for the next day as well while Drew tweaked some engine issues and by the time we left Chalong he was much happier with the way everything was running. strangely enough we had to go ashore and check out of Thailand but I was thinking we would do it further south in Thailand but because we're on the boat they give you time to check out of the country before stamping into Malaysia. The stamp in my passport has the boat name added underneath which I had never seen before, this is going to throw me out my comfort zone and be a real new experience for me.

Drew is fab with his instructions with help that he needs and on day one he had us all steering the boat and getting a feel for it. By the time we left Chalong, we plotted our course to Koh Phi Phi Le first of all to see 'The Beach' from a whole new angle and strangely enough I did most of the steering which I was starting now to get used to. At one point Drew gave me some training on a 'man overboard' situation asking me what I would do and initially a bit dumbstruck he threw a coconut overboard and told me to pretend it was him. I had been using the Hummingbird keeping our path to the island so my only thought was to use it to get back on track! I spun the boat around but missed it the first time and had to go round again, I got the boat back on course and surely enough a few minutes later I spotted the coconut in the sea.

Ha ha... Drew couldn't believe I had managed to find it and told me how much safer he felt with me being on the boat... result! He then advised on throwing the life ring over, slowing and turning the boat back around for uplift and by the time I had done all that you could have easily scooped down and got you're man overboard back on-board. How exciting, I can't believe I managed to find a coconut in the ocean on my second day at sea.

I was high as a kite afterwards and it really gave my confidence of being at sea a boost, thank you Drew for your guidance and instruction and making it all feel possible. Drew then took us in to Ko Phi Phi Le for a look before heading onwards to Phi Phi Island where we anchored off for the night. We spent maybe an hour at anchor making sure our position was safe before jumping in the dingy and heading to the island. My confidence kinda goes in the dingy and I got a life jacket from Drew to wear for our journey's by dingy, I think the volume of traffic around while in this tiny dingy still makes me uncomfortable... but it's all good, Drew just wants me to feel safe.

I was pleased to be back on Phi Phi where I had visited a few times before, and met with some friends I had made before enjoying the local food for dinner and returning to anchor. Next morning we sailed off Koh Muk, with the sun shining and the seas calm it was a truly wonderful journey. The amazing Thai islands and scenery, the calmness of the boat in the water... ahhh I think I could get used to this.

Beautiful sunsets, sunrises, beaches... most of which were deserted and we had to ourselves took us through some of the most beautiful, stunning scenery I have ever seen. Koh Muk, Koh Sukon and over to Koh Lipe where we spent a couple of nights before heading into Langkawi was a wonderful journey.

Via some beach bars, entertainment on Koh Lipe and most of all getting the sails up and doing some proper sailing made the whole trip so incredibly memorable that I will never forget. Crossing into Malaysia we had many dolphins swimming alongside and strangely saw butterflies while way out in the sea, locals in their fishing boats or long tails were always fascinating as well as the people we met along the way.

On arrival at Royal Langkawi Yacht Club, Drew did a sterling job of steering us into our dock despite fighting against the currents, we had arrived safe and sound and once tied off and settled in, we headed off to the Marina Bar to celebrate our success with a lovely bottle of red wine.

What an experience, thank you Drew for everything x



Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb