Puttering in Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
February 7th 2012
Published: February 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Phuket ParadisePhuket ParadisePhuket Paradise

The delicious adult beverage, quite suitably named.
Griff and I frequented a restaurant in Phuket called Orchid Café. When we first went there for dinner, I wasn’t really hungry, so I just had some mashed potatoes (random, I know). They reminded me of my dad’s home cooking. Of course they weren’t as good as Dad’s, but they were a good substitute. Orchid Café also had a really good (and cheap!) breakfast. I think the best part of my visits to Orchid Café was the fresh coconut I had. It was so fresh, and the coconut milk was delicious! Almost all the restaurants in Phuket served western food. I opted for Thai food whenever I could.

At another establishment we went to, I tried the Phuket Paradise, a sugary adult beverage that had some good kick to it. It was a really pretty shade of blue, and came with an orchid on the side.

On Sunday, we went exploring through town. We enjoyed catching up on the news in Starbucks (I think this has more or less turned into a Sunday ritual for me while on trip), and browsing through shops. I bought more postage (this time without the 20% surcharge that I had in a previous
Yum!Yum!Yum!

Kate drinks fresh coconut milk at Orchid Café
shop) and a purse. I’m not a huge purse person, but this was just a general carry-all bag that I will use at home. It’s a bit more stylish than my MEC purse, which is pure function. I was happy with the fact that I was able to negotiate the price down a bit. I was also happy with the fact that the bag was made locally (within Thailand, at least). We walked all the way up to Karon Beach. It’s a nicer beach than Kata Beach – clearer water, white sand, but with that also came a lot more people. I got a bit sunburned during our brief time there.

Also while shopping, I picked up this awesome Thai cookbook. It's small, but it has appetizers, entrées and desserts. The best part was that there were detailed pictures of each step.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Drink Truck?Drink Truck?
Drink Truck?

Some places have ice cream trucks, Phuket has mixed drink trucks.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb