Infamous Phuket nightlife at Bangla Road


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 17th 2008
Published: December 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Crazy Nightout at Bangla Road



I got a note from my Canadian mate, Josh that he was heading this way and another new found friend, Richard from UK is already at the infamous Bangla Road. I tried one of the public telephone booths to call up Richard but unfortunately did not get the connection. An old Thai lady selling some junk on the street next to the booth kept barking at me. Unable to bear the noise any longer she tried to call someone without luck herself. Probably a pimp besides street vendor with as much English she could have learnt kept on repeatedly asking me

“Are you calling a call girl?”
“Do you need a girl?”

Stupid! But every ugly lady I guess has little good side so she gave her mobile to call though charging me double the price of the call from local phone.

Exploring Jungceylon



Richard was busy with some friends and I headed back to the Jungceylon shopping center. Last time as it was late and I could not explore the place. I was big shopping centre for the island. It has separate 4 buildings (zones) 1.Silang,Boulevard 2.The Port (contains a massive Chinese fishing boat) 3. Sino Phuket 4. Phuket Square and each building has 4 floors.

Wild On Bangla Road. French Connection



I called up Josh again and he heard he was heading towards Bangla Road and he be going to of those bars at Tiger Entertainment Complex with Aussi friend of his. Walking down the Bangla Road Walking Street I met again those crazy French gang from Full Moon Party, Ko Phangan again. It is indeed a small world! I never expected them to see them again. Delph, the girl who spoke best English in the group was the first to notice me and again offered me to stay with them and again repeated the popular chant "Are you afraid still Arnab!" They still remember me! If I were alone I would have joined them but bid “Au revoir!” to them for Richard who came down to pick me up from just around the corner in few minutes. He took me to the bar adjacent to Soi Crocodile where all the lady boys were shaking their booty, showing their long legs and try to look the prettiest at the erected entrance stage. The place was so busy that the entire road inside the complex was completely packed with people. Watching the lady boys from the first floor was a real fun as I never seen lady boys look like so girly and they look even better than Thai girls. It was typical Thai girlie bars the girls asking men to buy them drinks(specially tequilla) and dragging an pulling everyone with their slippery hands ( Some unknown liquor were dripping from their bodies). I did not realize Richard was an excellent performer himself and has great talent in pole dancing. Love it or hate it that is Patong bar culture. I spent of the time there sipping beer, watching and sometimes participating the graceful dancing at the bar and below. After half an hour session we headed down to hit another girlie bar where we intended to meet Jose. We could not meet him there at Tiger Entertainment complex and ended up hitting another bar on the right side. Sharing few more drinks and watching the Thai girls performing the pole dance. Our group somehow got a grand reception from the girls. Every now and then one can notice some guys in late 50s or 60s solo getting in to one of the roads and literally pulled and dragged by the bar girls. Not just the old young men also get attention but they were approached more by observant pimps who stand by the corner and slowly engage in a conversation to get close and personal. After a couple of drinks we again headed for another bar and another drinking session followed. Around 2 in the night we got in to the Tiger Disco at the Tiger Complex. It was packed at night and more crazy people joined in. The place was so packed that I felt that the dance floor was going to explode or someone will die because of stampede. At around 3 in the night we left the disco but continued to party as it was my last night in Phuket. Good guys go to Heaven, Bad Guys go to Patong.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb