Phang Nga boat trip


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phang-Nga
November 3rd 2013
Published: November 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The sun was blazing as colour coded groups scrambled aboard different vessels (I was in green - a good sign I thought) and I had a little thought about how I felt like I was on a school trip and then relief came when I realised I was only responsible for myself! All aboard!! There began gentle journey through sparkling blue waters towards hazy mounds in the distance. Our destination? Phang Nga islands....

Phang Nga Islands are one of the most popular tourist destinations in Southern Thailand and for good reason. Also known as 'James Bond Island' where 'The Man with the Golden Gun' was filmed; for me, it was one of the most stunning and best days of my life (well my eyeballs thought so anyway!). I know I will have many of these amazing days whilst I am travelling, but this one I will remember as my first 'best day' ha!

As we all sat back to relax and enjoy the slow sail, the mounds in the distance became giant karsts juting up from the ocean as if they had been struck their from Ursulas mighty hand herself! They had none of Ursurla's disposition though; they were candy for my eyeballs...stacks upon stacks of green islands sprouting life from every crack....I had found my Avatar!! I know that these limestone rock formations were pushed up by pressure from tectonic plate movements (oh yes GCSE Geography!) and have taken their current aesthetic forms from years worth of water erosion. However, it really is hard for the mind to imagine this time laboured process and instead it is much easier to just appreciate it sheer beauty and and the feeling it gives you in that moment.

After getting to know a lovely couple from Nottingham and a group of Libyan boys I am readyfor kayak time. This is where I meet Skull, one of the quieter Libyan boys who is my kayak partner to which I'm secretly pleased as he has rather nice brown eyes and a gorgeous smile. Anyway! we kayaked through dark caves with orangey bulbous forms that glittered, finding our way through the darkness. As we leaned right back in our kayaks, avoiding the stalactites, we entered what might be called the secret core of a karst. The moment the light hit my eyes, I was struck by its natural beauty. The calm, cool air on my skin, the warm emerald green water I was floating on and the Jurassic like trees growing upwards ferociously. Roots were high above both the water and my head...high scale rock faces littered with vegetation, jagged formations and a cool breeze... bliss! They were the happiest plants I had seen for a while....because it was their domain...we were just visiting and it occurred to me how important it was that we mustn't leave a trace.

We stop the boat again and canoe around another spot. After the boys jump from the highest point of the boat and I jump from the bottom, we all have a much needed swim and I call over Skull for another paddle adventure. After a rather embarrassing climb aboard the kayak (in which Skull and I realise I need to do some push ups!) I am paddled around like a Queen. We paddle over to a nearby boat and make polite conversation with a guy and his Thai girlfriend then paddle over to a cave we spot. Out we jump, tie up the kayak and suddenly we are on the film set of Planet of the Apes. We explore the dark cavern and I am genuinely excited with awe and wonder....in the middle of the cave there is something in between a stalagmite and a stalactite??? It basically joined the floor and ceiling...we decide that it could be the incredible Hulks lady friends pole for dancing....hmmmm similar wavelengths I think.

Further up we go and it gets slimier underfoot and I see the most amazing wavy shelves or stairs ever...it really feels like we've stumbled upon a monster's home. Skull is a true gentleman and helps me down and we decide to head back to the boat. We realise we're in trouble when one of the guides is kayaking towards us...i'm so gullible I believe him when he says with a stern face "boat gone, you go tomorrow" Whaaattt??!! My initial thoughts are panic, I only have my bikini with me. Like naughty school children we are towed back to the boat (which by now has started to sail away) and climb aboard to a boatload of cheering and wolf whistling....really it was not like that! We were appreciating the beauty!!

All in good humoured spirits, we all agree that it has been the most amazing day and that we don't want it to end...

We say our farewells and the next day I am sun burnt and stay indoors watching films...I don't care, it was worth it. Naturally I left my camera aboard for the best bits, but maybe that's why they were exactly that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



6th November 2013

WOW & Amazing
Its amazing... I was there in november 2012 and incidentally on the same boat with the same kayak crew..... yur pixs are amazing and really nice....

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb