Monkeys On Coke - Kao Sok & Krabi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
January 27th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Due to the tour I booked down to Singapore being cancelled, I booked another one with Intrepid that was very similar although it did mean that I would go Back to Kao Sok National Park for a couple of nights (see previous blog).

So my last tour started with another overnight train down to Surat Thani then a minibus over to the park. Since I had so much fun last time, I convinced everyone we should go tubing down the river again. Didn't see many snakes this time but we did stop off at the monkey temple again. We found a little cool bar that was ran by English guy selling large 750ml beers for 50 baht (£1) so spent the evening there getting a little tipsy with the Irish couple Steve & Maria.

I decided to spend the next day by myself just chilling out in the jungle, had a little wonder in the stream and watched the wildlife go by. I was really impressed that they had Wifi, so spent a large part of the day sitting on my porch playing on the internet. We went back to the same bar for dinner and a few beers;
TubingTubingTubing

Thanks to Steph for letting me use her photos
it was pretty cool having English style chips again with brown sauce.

The next three days we spent in Krabi which is a beautiful area full of islands and beaches (they actually filmed The Beach one of the islands) it's also really overrun with Tourists. We did spend one day touring all the islands and lagoons on a speed boat and snorkelling around all the coral. I've never snorkelled before and it took me quite a while to get used to breathing underwater. Matters weren't helped by the guys on the boat throwing bread at me causing the fish to go into a feeding frenzy around me (even having a little nibble at my fingers). We even stopped at a beach that was inhabited by a tribe of monkeys (that seemed to like coke). It was a really amazing day that I'm not likely to forget in a hurry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

TubingTubing
Tubing

Life is so hard!
MonkeysMonkeys
Monkeys

Playing at the monkey temple
BugBug
Bug

Met this guy on the road late a night, he was about 8 inches long!
The Viking CaveThe Viking Cave
The Viking Cave

Full of swallows nest, used for birds nest soup.
May BayMay Bay
May Bay

or the beach form The Beach.
Speedboat parkingSpeedboat parking
Speedboat parking

Can't find a space, make one. Wonder if this will work at Tesco's?


27th January 2009

Farewell
Cant believe its our last day travelling together, its been a blast!

Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 23; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb