New Dawn


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
September 15th 2005
Published: October 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

After the toils of life on the road (and rail) in China and with the transition to Europe looming, what could be a better way to ease myself back to my former life again than spending a couple of weeks recovering my frazzled mind on the beach and invigorating my body on the steep limestone walls of the Tonsai area in southern Thailand...

On arrival, the release was instantaneous! In a relaxed and friendly atmosphere with good food and a slightly less intensely hot climate, I felt completely at home. And that was still Bangkok! A day later, I was securely vegetated on the beach, a warm wind blowing off the sea swaying the palm fronds overhead, and my batteries well on the recharge...

I really enjoyed simple things: food that doesn't scare me, the ability to communicate with people and contageous smiles. To say that it was pleasant is an understatement, to say it was verging on perfect is not. Coconut curries, swimming on a beautiful beach for the first time in ages, stir-fries with cashews, beautiful steep limestone routes, spicy tom yum soup, hanging out with a bunch of climbers from around the world and watermelon shakes...

What a beautiful way to round off my time here before my shock back to the west, winter and hefty price tags...





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 29; qc: 133; dbt: 0.1008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb