Krabi - the last Thai hurrah


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
June 26th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Krabi is a relatively small town on the West coast of Thailand. It is the main way of reaching Ko Phi Phi and Ko Lanta, so not many travellers stay there for more than a couple of days. However, there is a sleepy bay just outside Krabi that can only be reached by longtail boat. It is called Railey and is split into the posh west side and not so posh east side. We stayed on the east side (obviously).

It is currently low season, so not many people are at Railey, so it was nice just to wander around and watch 3rd rate pirate movies being shown in the bars. We had 3 days and didnt really do much, apart from rock climbing, which is one of the major attractions.

I have only ever climbed once, and that was on a climbing on a wall, so when i heard there was a natural cliff ideally suited to beginners I thought I'd give it a try. It looks easy. It isn't. I did 5 climbs in about 3 hours and have never ached so much in my life. And if that cliff was easy, then I don'y want to
Railey Bay East
be anywhere near a difficult one. But it was fun (at the time) and I'm glad it has now been ticked off the list.

I am now sat in Krabi town and our time in Thailand is almost over. We have been here for 6 weeks (about 2 weeks longer than expected) and I have an extra qualification to my name. I fully intend to come back to Ko Tao next year to complete my Dive master training, but it is now time to say goodbye. In a couple of days we cross the border into Malaysia. We are not even sure where we are heading to yet, but I'm sure it will be as much fun as the other countries we have already visited and we are bound to meet more nice people.

Cant wait....




Advertisement



Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb