Travelache


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
June 21st 2010
Published: June 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Not sure where I last finished off but the past week was literally one massive travel exhaustion headache.
I spent last Tuesday night in a mini van, awakening groggily in Vientiene where I grabbed my extended Thai visa in a matter of 30 hours. On Thursday night I was on a night train from Vientiene to Bangkok. By 6am Friday I was surrounded by the chaotic humidity that is Bangkok. While I was on a travelling role I opted to buy a ticket to Champon- another 6 hour train journey south. I arrived around 4pm. At 9pm Friday night I climbed aboard the scariest looking cargo ferry I have ever seen where I slept on a metal platform with the travelling locals, arriving in Koh Tao at 5am.

By that stage, I was beyond travel weary and desperate for some real sleep. Of course nothing was open at that time and after waiting until 8am for a reccommended guest house to open I was told that I would have to wait until 11am to see if anyone checked out. I felt that familiar lump rise in my throat. I was on the verge of tears when I assertively told the lazy bugger I would look elsewhere.
Someone above must have been watching over me and only a few meters down the path I found a backpackers place where I could check in immediately- and 50b cheaper than Mr. Crankypants was offering.

After some good rest I am a renewed person. Saturday night I met a few 'locals' (westerners who are now living here) and we spent yesterday having brunch, using a hotel swimming pool, beachside and weclomed in the afternoon sipping rum and colas long before beer o'clock offically began. It was a great day and I was grateful for the company. It turns out these locals are running a school/ day-care centre and today I'm going in for a look around. Then we have plans to take some kayaks to a nearby beach and chill out there. Life must be tough when you make plans like that for after work!

My excitement is building. Lisa arrives in 2.5 days. I meet her on Koh Samui on Wednesday night and then the real party times begin. We get to stay in some decent accomodation and that touch of luxury is calling my name loud and clear. I've got a feeling where in for some good times.



Advertisement



21st June 2010

Whoo!
I've got a feeling....whooo! That tonight's gonna be a good good night! Chloe I feel it too, you and Lisa are in for a big celebration; and you deserve it! Live it up you two, I want some good... almost unbelievable stories upon your return. I'll be ther with you in spirit. Love you lots girls xxx Mia
21st June 2010

yipee Koh Samui
Hey Chloe, what a week of travels. Glad to hear you found somewhere nice to stay and that you met some locals to help you feel welcome. Will be thinking of you and praying for safe travels and bargains ahead. Roll on a holiday with an old friend. Best wishes Es
21st June 2010

Let the good times roll!
Hello my darling. I am exhausted just reading about all that travel! I can imagine what dad would think!!!! Thank goodness you met some nice 'locals' to hang out with. How did the visit to the day care/school go? I can imagine the excitement building as you anticipate Lisa's arrival. I hope you have a blast together and enjoy that luxury that awaits....you have certainly earned it, as you have been doing it cheap most of the time. I am going to Mandurah on Friday to meet with Joan and Amanda for discussions on our Central American trip... looking forward to that! Take care but live it up!!!! All my love,Mum.
22nd June 2010

Hello gorgeous girl, Lisa leaves tonight!!!!!!! Mel and I are going round for one last little blast before she goes. I can't imagine how excited you must be :-) All that travel sounds exhausting and I was only reading it, not living it. You guys will have an amazing time. Love you and miss you lots xxx
25th June 2010

Go on spoil yourselves!!
Hi Chloe, (and Lisa) hope you have manages to meet up by now and are revelling in some well deserved luxury in Koh Samui. Chloe you'll begin to feel like a million dollars after some pampering and a lovely hotel etc instead of the backpackers you've been staying in!! Have a ball and ....go on spoil yourselves!! Marian
25th June 2010

inspiring tales! (caz)
Hey Chloe, iv been reading your blog while Im working in Melbourne and your pics are inspiring to get travelling again. well impresed u've kept diary going great to look back on!! Man you got to some great places in Asia ...bring on China you will love that too! About your memory cards - when you get back...my hardrive picked up some awful viruses from phnom penh and I thought ALL my photos from 2yrs travels had been lost. Apparently not - my friend is goin thru the slow process to recover them - anyway if you get back home and haven't sorted yours out I can ask my friend to help wit urs. Photos hav so many memories and I know sapa must hav been magical. keep writing ya stories, hope to catch up wit ya in WA later this yr :) xxx

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb