Koh Tao (PADI Open Water & Full Moon Party)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Heading out for our first open water diveHeading out for our first open water diveHeading out for our first open water dive

Mike, Nick and Joe (Left to right)
28th May
Today I caught the boat over to the island Koh Tao. On the way we went past Ko Nang Yuan Island, which is actually three islands connected by sand. The island was rented a few years ago by the Red Hot Chili Peppers for a massive party as they thought it was so nice. After arriving in Koh Tao I checked into my accommodation, slept and then got up for the PADI orientation video. After this we sat out on Buddha View bar and played poker.

29th May
We spent the morning in the classroom going over the theory we need to get our PADI qualification. In the afternoon we went through some essential dive skills in the swimming pool, such as how to clear a mask of water, how to switch to using someone else's air, etc...

30th May
In the morning we went over our last section of theory for our course and then headed out on a dive boat for our first open water dive. After jumping from the top deck of the boat we had to do a swim test and a floating test in the sea - required by PADI to get your open water qualification. They had chosen a quiet and sandy bay for us, so that we could practice skills on the sea bed without resting on coral. Taking off your mask underwater and then practicing clearing the water from it is unpleasant as you get lots of salt water in your eyes!

31st May
The first task of the day was to take our PADI Open Water exam. It was quite easy, except for a few questions where we had to work out how long you were allowed to spend under water at certain depths on multi level dives. (Nitrogen builds up in the body when you're breathing pressurised air, which can be dangerous and fatal if you don't follow the correct guidelines). It's a good thing I wasn't working my own times for when when we went diving that afternoon though, as I wouldn't trust my calculations. After the exam we played frisbee in the bay, one thing I really regret not bringing from home!

We headed out to two dive sites in the afternoon, where we practiced more diving skills along with admiring the fish! At this point I could already feel myself getting
The dive boatThe dive boatThe dive boat

Nick, Joe, Mike, Steph, Kirsten, Steph, Lindsey and Eilidh
addicted to diving, I enjoyed it so much!

1st June
The final day of our open water course was simply to gain diving experience - no need to practice any mask clearing! We were also filmed by one of the divers at Buddha View, which meant they gave us some tasks to do to make the film more interesting. (Edit - Since I got back I added the video to this blog, click on "Videos" to watch!). I Firstly, we were taken to Chumphon Pinnacle. This dive is my favorite from the course - a vast rock rises from the seabed a few miles from Koh Tao and is teaming with fish life. We had well over 15m of visibility, so could see fish everywhere we looked. You'll see what I mean if you get to watch the video!

After a short break we headed out to the "twins" dive site, which is right next to Ko Nang Yuan island. Ko Nang Yuan is actually three islands connected by a sand bank - the only place in the world where this occurs. We all had to perform a 'James Bond' roll off the front of the boat while being filmed - mine came off surprisingly well.

Once underwater we performed for the camera - using our (almost) weightlessness to perform flying kicks and flips. Then, our camerawoman produced a pair of sunglasses for us to put on instead of our masks and got us to dance for the camera. We also attempted (unsuccessfully) to blow bubble rings - something the instructors have managed to perfect.

After finishing our dive course we caught the party boat to Koh Phangan for the full moon party. Between 7,000 to 10,000 people attend every time, and tonight was no exception. All along the beach different clubs and pubs play their own genre of music - rock, club, trance, etc... so people just sit on mats on the beach where they like the music the most. The night felt like it was over almost as soon as it started, and before long we found ourselves dancing while watching the sun come up. We caught the boat back to Koh Tao at around 7am, arriving back in time for breakfast and then bed.

2nd June
Slept most of the day, was really gutted that I missed out on getting to see a whale shark because they had a sighting and everyone that was awake got onto a dive boat and got to see one. Decided that I really didn't want to leave Koh Tao yet and I wanted to do some more diving, so I booked onto the advanced dive course.

3rd June
Today I started my dive course - first dive was to 30m at Chumpon Pinnacle. Before we dived we performed a simple task on the surface, finding the numbers 1 to 16 in order on a grid while being timed. The reason is because at depth you can get nitrogen narcosis - where you get a natural high and begin acting as if you were drunk. They have even had students try and give the fish air from their tank - so if you're affected then you need to ascend a bit until the effects go away.

Only one person in our group felt any different - and instead of taking 10s to do the test, it took her 17s. She started giggling at everything as well - quite awkward when you're trying to keep a watertight seal around what you're breathing from!

It's weird being that deep - over 5 mins from the surface that you can't even make out. Our instructor passed around a cup that appears bright red on the surface and almost brown underwater. We also looked at a bag of crisps - all the air had been compressed so it felt solid (But once you get to the surface they can be eaten as normal).

Our second dive of the day is back at Twins, where we practice our underwater navigation skills. After this we head back to Buddha View to wait for our nitrogen levels to return to normal - before heading out just before sunset for our night dive. We head down with torches just as the sun is setting. The light fades fast and all we can see is what's in the torchlight paths. We see lots of stingrays on the move, as well as some giant barracudas. After a while, we stop on the surface and turn our torches off and wave our hands around - causing the phosphorescence to glow. Unfortunately I use my air quite quickly on this dive and have to surface early with one of the guides.

4th June
Today we rent an underwater camera to use on our dives, and we head out to South West Pinnacle and Aow Leuk. The photos come out surprisingly well, but I manage to loose the CD before I get a chance to blog about Koh Tao. I'm waiting on getting a copy from someone else on my course now before I can upload any photos other than the ones I had put on facebook.

When we return we go through some more theory for calculating nitrogen pressure groups when diving, and then we have to fill out lots of questions before completing the course. I use the internet for a while, trying to decide where to go next now that I've finished diving. I can't decide on anywhere, so I decide to follow everyone staying in Thailand over to Krabi and I get my bus ticket. In the evening we head over to the port side of the island for dinner (As we're getting a bit sick of a BBQ every night now).

5th June
I spend most of the morning sitting around chatting, before saying farewell to Steph and Kirsten who are heading up to Chang Mai. In the afternoon we rent triayaks (three person kayaks) and paddle out to Shark bay for snorkeling. However, we didn't really think the plan through very well and get stuck on reef because of the low tide.

Eventually we find out way out of Buddha View bay after grounding our triayak a few times. While paddling into shark bay we pass some people snorkeling who see some reef sharks, so I jump out with my snorkel gear. By the time I realise that I'm not going to see any sharks, our kayak is already back on the beach and I have to make a very painful exit of the water through very shallow water with lots of sea urchins to avoid (The only way to do it is to swim along though 30cm of water by pulling yourself along with your hands, just so you can spot them before getting injured).


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Underwater racesUnderwater races
Underwater races

Lindsey and Me


8th July 2007

Wow, more amazing pictures!
Lovely stuff - I can see why you love diving so much, I do just looking at the pictures - though I can imagine it's even more vivid when you're actually there!

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb