SE Asia 2014 Day 23


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
November 27th 2014
Published: November 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately, this is a bad day for me. Presumably, either something I ate last night is disagreeing with my system or I have managed to pick up a bug, but I pass a rough night and this morning I feel terrible. I cannot even eat breakfast. Everyone else is fine, so it's a mystery what's affecting me.

The plan was for a day trip to Chaweng, the main town on the island and also the location of one the major public beaches. I go through the motions of preparing to go along with the group, but at the last minute I bail, because a bumpy 30-minute ride is not compatible with my current condition. So the gang goes off without me, and I spend the rest of the day curled in a fetal position in our room, although I do slip in a bit of blog work.

Vi mostly enjoys Chaweng. The beach is lovely, with big rolling surf. For lunch, they hit a food mart and enjoy soft drinks, chips and other junk food. They walk up and down the main tourist strip, but find it mostly chinsy. There are also many annoying people trying to sell suits and time shares. Vi does identify an interesting jewelry shop that makes all their products on site.

The gang returns in mid-afternoon and the rest of the day is spent on the beach. By this point, we have made friends with a bunch of Australians. Some are part of a tour group and another is here on her own. They are loads of fun, and we have a great time identifying all the things Ozzies and Canadians have in common (which is a lot) and beefing about Americans.

I'm feeling well enough to join the group for supper. We eat at the International Restaurant once again, and the same comments apply: good food, slow service.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb