Ko Samui/bangkok craziness


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 9th 2010
Published: February 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
1/4
Had a long travel day. It was 4 hours to the border, the switched mini buses, and then another 4 hours into thailand. Just took some motion sickness pills and xanax to sleep the whole way. We are now in Nakhon Si Thammarat...it's really just a local town. They don't get many westerners out here. Went to the shadow puppet show and bought a Ganesh puppet. It was actually pretty interesting. All the puppets are made out of raw hide. Someone actually is playing live music in the background...everything is done by hand. Had some delicious street vendor food. Yummy real pad thai. We only stayed here for 1 night. There really is not much to do here...it was just a stopover.

1/5
Woke up early to grab breakfast with our guide (I wanted to eat some good local foods!) and then hit another temple. I don't remember the name but it's supposed to be the biggest temple in thailand. After that we jumped in the fan to catch the ferry to Ko Samui! Yay beach! Finally! Praying that it won't rain. I was so happy because we went to a place with a fish market. I got to have my crab feast! Delicious! After that it rained 😞 and then the electricity went out for awhile. Didn't mind being in the dark but no electricity = no AC! It was starting to get hot, but I couldn't take the sheets off for fear of being bit by mosquitos!

1/6
Today was the snorkeling tour. Had to mostly focus on not throwing up on the boat. A guy next to me was pretty sick...the boat was pretty rocky. Snorkeling was just ok- phi phi islands is way better. The beaches were pretty crowded, as always, with the daytrippers. I got the best thai massage ever. This lady twisted me, bended me, and perfectly cracked my back. She had magic hands. It felt like a workout too! I had a couple sweet bruises on my legs. Went to the "fancy" restaurant on the beach and got sick. My tummy is not happy. It's been 4 weeks of eating cart food and the "fancy" place is the one that gets me sick!

1/7
Woke up early and it was pouring. Ate my free breakfast and decided to just hang out. Went to the internet cafe to hunker down and plan the last 4 days of my trip. Decided to go to koh yao noi for the yoga retreat and then spend a night in nai yang. I hope it's good and not lame....Can't wait to get back to phuket and get a TAN! I'm totally disappointed with this part of my trip, malaysia blows and ko samui is no fun in the rain. BUT I am finding some entertainment at the muay thai training camp. It's right next to our hotel. These guys are huge. Not sure how they can stand training in this heat/humidity and in bare feet...ew! Ko Samui is gross and I would never come back here. Got another thai massage and this girl was horrible. She didn't even crack my back. At the end of it I made the lady that I had the day before come over and crack my back.
PS the "fancy restaurant" effects are now taking over my stomach...taking the atomic bomb blue pill. It was all PK's fault! For dinner we went to Cheweng Beach. I had huge steamed red snapper all to my self! Delicious! Then the sickness set in. I felt like a truck hit me. Achy, chills, and upset stomach is just wonderful. Maybe some weird toxins were released during my massage? My group went to some lady boy show....sorry, but I think that is lame. I don't want to pay to see that. I'm from a place were you can see a man dressed like a women anytime. There's no novelty in it for me. I saved my money and hung out in the interent cafe to check my FB account. When I don't feel good, the last thing I want is a he/she yelling at me and lady gaga music bumping in the background.

1/8
I can't take it anymore...the atomic bomb has been deployed. I felt bad for giving my roommate the nice "musical" wake up call. But what can you do with these thin doors? Oh well! We all have to go through it at one point of a trip right? She claims that she didn't hear anything, but I don't believe her haha. Spent the morning slowly packing my bag. It was still yucky outside so I didn't even bother going to the beach. Most of the day was spent traveling to the train station. We took the ferry back and then a bus. The bus was crazy. We stopped somewhere and people get on the bus ordering you around to get off for any transfers. If I was on my own I'd be scared as no one made any sense...glad I had a guide. I'd be confused. We were 4 hours early for the train to Bangkok so we hung out in surat thani for a bit. Went to the street market and had some yummy fried chicken. Really just tried to kill time. I got a mosquito bite on my forehead and it's starting to get huge! Looks like a knot on my head. I was happy that we got the nice train with the western toilet. Just stayed up reading.

1/9
Slept on the train ok except for the usual 6:30am wake up call COOOOFFFEEE! I hate them.
We get to our hotel and of course the rooms were not ready. So no shower today. We dumped our stuff in the lobby and went to wat pho and the reclining buddah. I had been there before so there's not much to say....
Afterwards we went walking around the hotel and this time we decided to walk the opposite direction of Rambuttri street, away from khao san road and went towards the pier instead. Much different down there. Had lunch at O'Hungry restaurant. It was yummy. After that I went to my favorite alley way massage place for a 200 baht oil massage and then went to susie lane for my fave foot massage place (120 baht).
My stomach is still not happy so I deployed atomic bomb #2., pepto, and then another local bomb. Nothing is making me feel better. Anything I eat or drink does not stay down. I'm dehydrated and starting to get dizzy. Good thing I had some cipro so I started taking that and instantly felt better, it's a cease fire situation now 😊 I want to shop but everything in bangkok looks like crappy junk to me know. Ended the night by taking another stroll down Khao San Road. That place is fucking nuts. See ya bangkok.









Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb