Island Time (What day is it again?)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Ra
December 16th 2008
Published: December 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It seems we have been busy (or just away from the computer a lot more). We now have internet capabilities on Koh Ra, so now the only reason to go to the mainland is ice cream. Don't think we will ever have it here as we have no freezer. We have had a fun couple of months here so far. We are on our second round of Earthwatch volunteers and have lots more guests. Christmas at the Ecolodge should be busy and fun!

Life is pretty good here. Slow paced, hard to know what time or day it is. It is almost Christmas, but it still feels like summer time to me. We had an exciting time last week as Kim and I arranged for the Soi Dog Foundation out of Phuket to bring their mobile vet set-up to Koh Ra for spaying and neutering. There are many dogs already on the island that were hanging around the sala wanting food. After we dealt with weeks of puppies everywhere, dog fights, and feeding everyone to get them used to us, Dr. Max was able to fix 12 dogs in a single morning. He did our (now ours I guess) 3 adult dogs and 3 puppies and 6 other dogs from our Thai and Burmese neighbors. We still have a few more females around that are already pregnant so Dr. Max will probably have to come back. It all went off well as we were able to catch all the dogs and didn't have the need to dart them. The vet set up outside our bungalow and did an assembly line of dogs one after the other. It was so funny as they woke up and stumbled around like they were drunk. After a day of sleeping it off and 2 weeks of antibiotics and anti-inflammatory, they are back to normal. Behaviors have improved quite a bit though, thankfully. It is a big job feeding everyone their meals and having to feed puppies in the bathrooms. It is pretty funny to see them try and go in to the bathroom with the guests thinking they will get fed. I just yell "puppies" in a high-pitched voice and they all run to the bathroom door!

Jarod and I got a day off together and went diving at the Surins. It was so beautiful and we saw 4 eels, a giant puffer and incredible coral. Hope to make it back soon.

My Thai is improving. P-Bao is teaching me a few words a night to help my vocabulary. Still don't know what is going on the kitchen. They speak too quickly! They translate the funny stuff for me, so it is okay.

Awe and I are starting our kids camp next month, so that will be fun and busy. I actually miss teaching quite a bit. We have been visiting the moken village lately setting up tourism with them to help them fix their well. Two darling little kids there for me to play with which is nice.

I hope all of you have a great Christmas and New Year! We miss you!






Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

So sweet!So sweet!
So sweet!

Koh Ra


19th December 2008

WOW
Boy! Looks busy there!! Very interesting surgery area, afraid the AMA may close you down. Ha ha. I love the pictures. the dogs are cute. We miss you. Hope you have a blessed Christmas. I love you Mom
19th December 2008

Snow
You must be missing all the snow we have - We just got back from Aus. and NZ and we do miss the warm weather. Enjoy your life - it sounds great. HAPPY, HEALTHY CHRISTMAS AND N.Y.
20th December 2008

Miss my Thai family
Ejoyed your latest blog(where in heck did that name come from..all I can think of when I see or hear 'blog' is the 'spit-up' I do when I cough, yuk). Those poor dogs..I can just hear all the barking and moaning now. Guess it's necessary..but you stay away from the knife, you hear, Heather..I want another great grandbaby. Nysha is pregnant again, her third..more cooperative than you two. Will Email my Xmas message next week. Love you guys....Grandma

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb