Koh Phi Phi, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Leh
February 23rd 2013
Published: February 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Dear Grace and Mag,

I just spent a week on Phi Phi island which I thought as first was going to be too much because it's a party island and I was there for 3 nights and Hannah was arriving after that for a further 3 nights. I thought I would have to leave a bit early - As it turns out I am more hardcore than I thought and loved every second of it. The hostel was on the beach that was clear water and white sand and only 7 quid per night.

The first day I met two really nice girls n the boat on the way over - Beckie and Becky so we met for dinner and drinks later that night and had such a giggle! At first we were in the little town then ended up on the beach like most people do. The music was so loud that it just grabs you and has such a good base to it you can't help but dance all night! Phi Phi is a tiny island that looks like paradise. There were no proper roads and no cars - the closest is bicycles and a few scooters.

As the days went on I met more and more people - all lovely and went out in a big group. I met Ruby, Sonya and Danielle in the hostel. The fire shows that go on every night are amazing and go on until about 12/1 ish. It's so impressive and the guys are really good looking! One in particular is amazing! Spent most of the week with a hangover but when you can go to a stunning beach to cure it, it's all goooood!!! The nicest beach I went to was called Long Beach. you can either walk for 45mins opr get a taxi boat. Both was nice though because the walk in through little town, through trees and on the beach and the taxi boat is over turquoise water. I did both as I went there twice. On the walk there I saw a huge spider, about the size of my hand but they don't come near you.

Got a tattoo one of the days. They did it with bamboo and I love it and just want to lookat it all the time. It didn't hurt either. I found it a lot softer than the machines back at home.

One of the days me and Hannah went on a boat trip where we watched people cliff jump into the sea (I was too chicken) and we visited Maya Bay (where 'The Beach' was filmed). Was so stunning!! We did snorkelling as well and it was truly like another world under the ocean - reminded me of where Ariel lives! The fish are bright colours, the coral is beautiful, star fish are there and sharks - but only small ones. Also in the same day we visited another beach where were more monkeys than people! Was probably the most surreal moment of my life! Standing in paradise surrounded by monkeys, feeding them pineapple - as you do! Still in the same day we went to a teenybeach cove for a fire show and BBQ and got our bodies painted with U.V paint. Just after sunset everyone who was in the cove were sent into the sea to watch the plankton glow in the dark. When we swished our hands around it was like you're surrounded by glitter as they glow even more.

So basically I did do some activities in Phi Phi but mainly partying and meeting lush people. I just love the music and the fire shows that are all up the beach. Could never get bored of it! It's nice going out with no shoes on too - a good feeling of freedom. If you take shoes you will lose them in the sand so it was best not to bother. I think I might try and return to work for a bit - fell in love with the place. My favourite so far by a mile! Although it is quite hardcore partying you don't have to go out every night, especially if you're working so definitely considering it!

Love love xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 103, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



25th February 2013

Hiya Jess, Photos look great, glad your enjoying it, i am quite jealous! I see you have discovered the joys of drinking out of the buckets! Just be careful if you do the Full Moon Party on them, i did and was a little bit ill haha! Oh well, we learn by our mistakes, maybe! Take care and be safe Tim xx
26th February 2013

Thanks Tim I will be careful though. I haven't got time for full moon i am flying to Oz tomorrow. Next time - I'm definitely not finished with Thailand I love it too much x

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb