Koh Phi Phi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
January 4th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Caught the overnight bus from Bangkok down to Phuket and then jumped on a ferry to the island of Koh Phi Phi. Once I arrived, I walked the narrow paths of the island (no cars allowed) and bumped into my Irish friends from Mu Nei, Vietnam. I settled into the Island Guest house (once again, no hot water!!!) and immediately set out to sign up for a scuba dive the next day. Having not slept much on the overnight bus, I called it an early night after taking a short stroll around the island and beaches.

The next morning I awoke early for the dive. I went to a small restaruant for breakfast and found they had ESPN. So I enjoyed some college football bowl games before heading out for the dive.

A group of 6 took a speed boat about an hour from the island to the dive sites of Hin Daeng and Hin Muang (famous for sharks, manta rays and other marine life). During my first dive, after reaching almost 100 feet down, I hear a "pop" sound. At first I thought it was my ears. But after checking my hearing, I realize it must be something else. I reach behind me to find air rushing out of my tank. So I calmly swim over to my dive master and have him look at my tank. He immediately puts backup regulator to my face so I can breathe from his tank. He and I slowly make our way to the surface and then onto the boat. It was then I find out my octopus (the various tubes that connect to the air tank) had broke and air was coming out. I change gear and we reenter the water. The rest of that dive as well as the second dive of the day were greatr as I saw eels, trigger fish and all kinds of other aquatic animals. Unfortunately no sharks or rays.

Tired from the day at sea, I once again enjoyed a quite night alone and turned in after dinner. On my way back to my guesthouse, I did watch two girls try Thai Boxing at the Raggae Bar.

The next morning I once again went to the restaurant for breakfast so I could watch the Orange Bowl. I watched the game with two other Americans. It was an amazing game between OHIO STATE and NOTRE DAME. I spent the rest of the day on the beach with Irish gang. That night I met up with the Irish Lads and we enjoyed a night of drinking at
Carlitos, Apache and ending at Hippies. I even met two Irish girls that I had previously met in Laos and they recognized me from my blog (as well as my painted toe nails).

The next morning I once again met up with the two Americans for the Rose Bowl. Even a better game with Texas winning in tripple overtime with almost no time left. After the game, I packed up and caught the ferry to Phuket so I could do a liveaboard at the Similan Islands.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Irish Eyes are SmilingIrish Eyes are Smiling
Irish Eyes are Smiling

The entire gang huddles around a table at Carlitos bar before a round of Tequila shots.
Luck of the IrishLuck of the Irish
Luck of the Irish

For the first time since I have been traveling, I was recognized by other travelers from my blog. These two Irish girls who I met in Laos (and posted a photo of them tubing in Vang Vieng on my blog) recognized me by saying "aren't you larluv?".
Phi Phi IslandPhi Phi Island
Phi Phi Island

This is where the Tsunami wave came across the island.
Phi Phi IslandPhi Phi Island
Phi Phi Island

You can see the mixture of small "long tail" boats and modern power boats that hang out in the harbor. The island has rebounded very nicely from the devastation of the 2004 Tsunami.
Island HoppingIsland Hopping
Island Hopping

Masses of travelers crowd on the decks of ferry boats to visit the various islands of Thailand.
Footloose and FancyFootloose and Fancy
Footloose and Fancy

As the ferry makes its way back to the mainland, here we see the feet of those up on deck enjoying the sun of the Thai Islands.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb