Learning to Dive!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
December 9th 2005
Published: December 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Diving!Diving!Diving!

Always a bit difficult to smile for the camara when you're 16m under water! ;-)
WOW... what a week I've had!

I am now a qualified PADI diver and I can't believe I hadn't done it before, it is nothing short of amazing!

I hope everyone is well and that the Stopgap Christmas party went well even if I wasn't there to help get the party started! ;-)

As for my week, I caught the night train from Hua Hin to Trang on Saturday, which saved me a day on travelling and for 500 Baht ( 7 pounds ) I got a bed to sleep in and breakfast in the morning... now thats value for money!

Anyway, I hooked up with one of the girls who had finished at the volunteer program at the end of November and we headed towards Phi Phi, which is just as beautiful as I had imagined. You can still see parts that the Tsunami devastated but to be honest it's hardly noticeable especially if you hadn't seen it the way it used to be!

I stayed on Long Beach, which apparently was the only place that wasn't hit by the tsunami and you could tell as the hut I stayed in should have been destroyed
Me Diving in!Me Diving in!Me Diving in!

Me walking off the boat with my diving gear on!
back in the 70's! But for 200 Baht per night I guess I can't complain! ;-)

I made two new friends in Lindsay (dive instructor) and Ryan (my dive buddy) who I'm hoping to hook up with in Australia as they are heading there next month.

My 5 day's off have been brilliant although I'm feeling a little tired from all the constant parties to celebrate every dive and fish that we saw, especially the fact that I got to swim with 2 turtles on my first dive... how impressive is that!

So it's back to work now as we seem to have had 4 new people start while i was away, which means I have to help train them before I leave in a few weeks time!

Finally, I just wanted to thank everyone who has emailed me as it really is great to hear from you... keep them coming and sorry if I don't always reply but I will try to get back to you as soon as I can!

Love you all...

P
xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Dive BuddiesDive Buddies
Dive Buddies

Me and my dive buddy Ryan...
MeditatingMeditating
Meditating

Under water meditating...
Dive SiteDive Site
Dive Site

Near the beach where the film was made...'The Beach'!
TurtleTurtle
Turtle

One of the turtles that we saw!
Dive Instructor!Dive Instructor!
Dive Instructor!

Lindsay... my dive instructer all the way from South Africa!
After our 4th dive!After our 4th dive!
After our 4th dive!

Me and Ryan catching out breath up top!


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb