My last of the southern sun


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
April 28th 2008
Published: May 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was raining.

Not a light shower, but looks-like-the-rainy-season-has-started-early type of rain. Guess where I was off to.......yep, I had planned a day of island hopping - in the sun.

All you can do is cross fingers and push on with things.

Purely for the sake of ease I had decided to join the tourist horde to check out Ko Phi Phi. Given that I had only one more day in the area and wanted to see as much as I could, I figured there wasn't much point taking the longboat charter option because the masses were still going to be there. Would definitely do it though if I was going to be most of the day in one place.

Thankfully there were only two places where it was pretty full-on numbers wise - the wharf at the start of the day, and at the first stop Maya Bay. Although I hadn't known at the time I booked, it is possible to do an overnighter at Maya Bay; avoid the crowds and be there for the sunrise - more my style. Never mind, maybe next time.

After leaving Monkey Beach we stopped off shore for those who wanted to go snorkelling. I'm not exactly a strong swimmer and hadn't even bothered taking the hire fins on offer at the wharf when we left. When people were going up to claim mask and snorkel I was looking over the side and thought, "doesn't look very deep at all. Can't really come to Thailand and not go snorkelling at least."
The rest of that story; it was 5m deep, I grabbed a life jacket (as did just about everyone else as it turns out) snorkel and mask, jumped in and had a great time.
Oh yeah, I ended up being one of the last ones back on the boat because I was too busy enjoying myself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb