Ko Phi Phi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
March 20th 2007
Published: March 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

I haven't written since I haven't had too much new to tell. I'm still in Phi Phi and might actually stick around here for the rest of the time in Thailand. It's nice to stay in one place, too much moving around is tiring! I've made some friends on the island, and am a bit hooked up now! Met a french guy that lives half the year here, and half in Paris. He's got a speedboat tour company here. The boat's name is Jessica. Believe it! I took a picture of his boat two years ago! And now I met the owner... haha He's a nice guy and has invited me on the boat anytime I want. That means, i've been getting free tours of the islands, snorkeling and lots of beach time. Can't complain!!

Before meeting him, I spent a few days with Sam (Germany) and Robert (Spain) and the three of us had a great day snorkeling. Even saw 10 or so dolphins swimming around in a bay at the end of the day!!

I had a bit of a run in with a fish one day. Apparently i was crossing into his territory, and he bit me! It's about the size of a large sardine... so I'm not too scared, but even so these types of fish are a bit intimidating... they swim right up to your face and then back out. haha threatening me! Besides these fish, I've seen lots of other colourful ones, and yesterday I chased a small squid! They're quick! No sharks so far... gotta do a dive one of these days, and maybe I'll see some then!

This island has a very interesting phenomenon. At night, the bioluminescents are extremely big! Usually they are just a light reflection when you put your hand in the water. But here they are so big, that you can literally pick up the small spot of light and hold it in your hand! In fact, I actually split one into three!! In the movie, The Beach, there is a scene where they are swimming at night and surrounded by these... I think they must have decided to add that into the movie because they are so big here.

My friend here at the netcafe just gave me a present! a nice box with a beautiful bracelet... so sweet. The people are so kind here. Also, however long I spend on the net, and she always charges me the same amount, 10baht, not even half a dollar.

So life is going by pretty relaxed here. Today we're not going on the boat, we're just going to a beach nearby instead. First I'm getting a manicure... traveling is not the best thing on the nails! And then all of a sudden it is 6:45pm. This is the only time of day that i know what time it is. I don't have a watch with me. But at 6:45, it is muslim prayer time here on Ko Phi Phi. A man's voice on a loudspeaker echos around the island as he calls the muslims on the island to prayer in arabic. it is not a muslim island, but there are a lot of muslims here. Yesterday I saw a few snorkeling, wearing the mask and snorkel with the headdress! They do the prayer time 5 times each day, but somehow I miss all the other ones.

Last night we got rain for the first time... and when it rains here... it POURS. It's so relaxing though. I was relaxing on a hammock listening to the rain hit the metal roofs. It's nice for a bit, but luckily this morning, I woke up to beautiful sunshine and blue skies!!

--- ahhh prayer time! so now I know - 12:45 is another prayer time... in the Bangkok airport i saw signs to the prayer room... i love these mini culture shocks.

alright, beach time!!

jessica



Advertisement



20th March 2007

Ko Phi Phi
Hey Jessica Ko Phi Phi looks truly spectacular, I can see why you're spending extra time there, looks like paradise !! Thanks for all the pics and taking the time to write for all of us here. Chris
20th March 2007

Hello again! I am so glad you are not feeling the rain like here, it is so wet all the time latelly! So it looks like you may be becoming a local or something...when are you comming back? Are we losing you to Tahiland's beauty?:P Take care!

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb