Beeline, pt. 2 - Koh Pha-Ngan, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
February 12th 2017
Published: February 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

reefersreefersreefers

My dive shop and guesthouse - Reefer's
Koh Pha Ngan is known the world around for the infamous Full Moon Party held monthly on Haad Rin on the south eastern beach of the island. I had no desire to go to this party nor was it the correct time of the month anyways as the moon was in a new quarter. Good timing on my part. The ferry from Koh Samui to Koh Pha Ngan cost me $200b after shopping around a bit. On the boat I was given a map of the island and decided to stay on the north west coast on Haad Yao. After taking a share taxi to the beach I stumbled into a dive shop that also had accommodation for $400b. I booked the room and also a two dive trip to Sail Rock the following day for $2,500b. I was excited to again get into the water and scuba dive. Scuba is rapidly becoming a favorite sport of mine.

Koh Pha Ngan and more specifically Haad Yao was the first beach since Koh Lanta where I could spread out and have my own space without a million other tourists and beach vendors invading my space. The island and the beach had a total relaxing vibe about it, something I did not expect due to the fact that it is home to the backpacker minions and the full moon party. I'm sure at the full moon everything is different and I was glad to be here at the time I was. The food was great (as all of Thailand really) and I just stared off into the ocean getting excited to go diving the next day. The water here was so calm and mirror like, it was difficult to tell where the ocean stopped and the horizon of the sky began.

After a good night's sleep I was up early and set off for the hour boat ride to Sail Rock, our dive spot for the day. I was full of excitement - especially after my great dives I had in Indonesia. From the surface Sail Rock is not much, but underwater it reveals a massive granite pinnacle covered in hard and soft coral. The amount of fish I saw was astonishing. Schools of barracuda hundreds strong were swimming all around me. Not to mention the countless other shoals that were thousands strong up, down, and all around. Spectacular. This area is also home to the Whale Shark - the largest animal on the planet. Unfortunately I did not see one. My dive skills have come so far since those early days in Colombia. I am really pleased with my progress and the dive master knew right away that I was confident and comfortable in the water and he let me do pretty much my own thing. It was nice to have my development recognized by a professional. Diving in Thailand - like every other activity - is dominated by numbers. At one point in the water I could see fifty or so other divers all either "fun diving" or getting PADI Certifications. It is so crowded here. Very different from my experiences in Indonesia and I long for the days when I was in solitude amongst the landscapes and even an anomaly to the local people rather than an open wallet.

Between Indonesia, Malaysia, and now Thailand I have been living on an island for the past three months. Now the time has come to leave the beaches and the sand behind and move north into the mainland. Jungles, mountains, and countless temples, museums, and historical sights await and
sail rocksail rocksail rock

Not much from the surface, but underwater down to 30m reveals an entire new world.
I'm looking forward to the change. Now I beeline for Bangkok where the lunar New Year dawns upon me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

All the dive boats lined upAll the dive boats lined up
All the dive boats lined up

One of my most crowded dives


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 29; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb