Bartending memories in the sands of time


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
October 25th 2011
Published: October 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

BangkokBangkokBangkok

Buildings of Wat Phra Kaew
Bangkok, back in Bangkok after 30 years, back to my place of birth. Despite the fact that this is the country I was born in and where I spent part of my youth in, I have never been particularly keen on re-visiting it. Thailand is too touristic for me, or at least that is what my impression was before coming, and still is now that I am actually here. It isn't that I mind about the other tourists, I am not a travel snob who thinks off the beaten track is better than a beach in Thailand. No it is more the fact that because Thailand is and has been on the tourist radar for such a long time there isn't really anything new to discover here. There are so many stories about this country, so many programs about it, every other travel magazine has a feature on it, I have seen so many pictures of it that I can dream about it and there is no reason to go here in person. Every beach has been photographed countless of times, every temple, every jungle track, every hill tribe has been chewed over by generations of travellers. And that is my
BangkokBangkokBangkok

Statue in Wat Phra Kaew
problem with this country, I like to discover the unexpected, go to a place I know little about and Thailand, let's face it, doesn't really have that anymore.

But that said, I am here and it is of course beautiful and I am enjoying it. I am enjoying the ease of travel, the relaxing nature of life, and yes I too appreciate the fantastic beaches.

Foremost I came back to revisit some of the places of my youth. However 30 years is a long time and I quickly discovered that the Bangkok of my memory is not the Bangkok of the here and now. The appartment we used to live in doesn't exist anymore, the school I went to has moved to I don't know where, the roads I walked have changed unrecognisably. Bangkok is for me just another city, I get no fuzzy feelings when I walk its streets.

The memories will remain memories, there Bangkok will remain stuck in time, idealic as youth memories often are. There I will run down my Soi and play with the children of our neighbours. There I will terrorize our poor landlord, by going to places we were not
BangkokBangkokBangkok

Guardian figures
allowed to go, or by accidently burning part of his furniture.

As for the rest of Thailand. Well in the weekends we used to go to Pattaya, but I will not even venture there these days, since it hasn't got the best of reputations. But back then it was a nice beach, not too crowded and in easy reach of Bangkok. The car journeys down were often eventful, like the one time when we were overtaken by a car tyre. As it turned out, it was our own back tire that had come loose and was rolling past us! Yes, those were the days.

On the longer holidays we often went up north, to Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai, on winding roads some paved, some not, where every curve was crowded with spirit houses. Up north I will still go, but I have to wait for the floods to recede. Instead I have moved south, to the islands, of which I have no memories since we never went that far south back in the day.

I have been relaxing on Ko Pha-Ngan, with a friend, and amongst the youthful revelers of today, reminding me just how old
BangkokBangkokBangkok

Scenes from the Ramaya
I am. When you talk to a girl who has never heard of Knightrider and asks you if it is a show from before 1988, you know enough! But come on, we are talking about Knightrider, with David Hasselhoff and his trusty talking car KIT!!

With the monsoon dragging on it looks like I might be around these parts for a while. More beaches, more sun-tans and more uncomprehending faces when I talk about obscure eighties shows. I think I will be drinking a lot of Chang to compensate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Glitter, glitter
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Corner of a temple
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

All that gold hurts the eye
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Elephants and buddha's
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

made of Jade I think but who's asking?
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Grand Palace
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Guard at the Grand Palace
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Golden Buddha at Wat Pho
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Same Buddha, bigger photo
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Big Buddha means big feet, luckily they didn't smell
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Giving money, for good luck I guess
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

A splash of orange
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Reflections
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Golden statues
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Peeping at some more temples
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

You can get an overload of golden Buddha statues when you visit the temples in Bangkok
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Wat Arun


25th October 2011

the Knightrider rules
There is something seriously wrong with the next generation if they haven't heard of the Knightrider, it's a classic.... and the A-team. Mind, if I ever saw it again I'd probably be quite unimpressed. Have they heard of Pink Floyd?
26th October 2011

hey traveler, i'm gonna be in south east asia as well. starting of in singapore next week and making my way up to bangkok first. would be wicked to meet up! take care
21st December 2011

memories in the sands of time
I am really enjoying your blog. Loved the reference to Knightrider....hmmmm!!! I am from South Africa and now live in London. Whenever I go back 'home' on holiday I seldom have any emotional attachment to any of the places. It's quite weird in a way, but I kinda left that far behind me in 2001. I enjoyed your childhood recollections and was especially amused by the back tyre overtaking the car. :) altho I am sure at the time it wasnt that funny! I really do love your photos, and have to marvel at the richness of the statues in comparison to the wealth of the locals. Different perspective altogether. Regards Cindy

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb