Full Moon Party


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 31st 2009
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Haad Rin


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Fire works off Verandah Haad Yeo 30 secs
It ended up being a lazy day and we went for another swim and settled in for the afternoon on the veranda. We were very undecided about our plans for New Years Eve and with everyone else going to the Full Moon party we just couldn’t get excited about the whole thing. We were also worried about spending the money to get in and back as it was 40min drive in the back of the ute taxi and not to mention the over inflated drink prices. We had another great chicken sandwich for dinner and with the carcase going to a visiting friendly stray hungry dog . We each had a Sang Som and coke in our hand (Rum drink) and ended up speaking about the pros and cons of going to the full moon party and the nightmare of getting back home again. I went down to dig up more info on the party to make our finally decision and with 100% of people saying it’s a once in a life time opportunity and you will never see a party as big as this especially that the Full Moon Party falls on New Year’s eve this time. The decision was made and we half an hour to get ourselves sorted and buy our taxi tickets to get there.
We didn’t have enough time to get the tickets and when the taxi turned up Jacinta and I simply got in the back of the ute as they assumed we had tickets already. We were happy about that as this saved us a whole $10, it doesn’t sound like much but anyone who’s had to travel on a tight budget for an extended period of time knows what I’m talking about.
We ended up changing taxis three times and each time there was money changing hands from one driver to another. We could not work out why we had to keep changing taxi’s, maybe it was a territory thing? The last part of the taxi ride I had to stand up on the back tailgate and hold onto the canopy roof rack and 1 ½ hours later and It was organised chaos in Haad Rin and there was a ute taxi’s bumper to bumper so we walked in. There was an entry fee of 100THB which goes towards cleaning up the beach, so they say. I almost got through without paying and if I kept walking like Warwick did, I would off. At the time I didn’t know we had to pay and I was waiting for Jacinta and they spotted me without a wrist band. We walk out onto the beach with 50 000 partying people, it was incredible and we were standing in the biggest party in the world. They had massive sound systems set up right down the beach playing DOOF DOOF music, and tables and tables of Buckets (A 1 litre bucket that they mix your drink in and you carry it around). They had a massive jump rope that was on fire, fireworks going of everywhere, people trance dancing on drugs, glow sticks, body paint, pretty much everything you would have at the biggest party in the world. Feeling very pissed from the Sang Som earlier I didn’t really need to drink and with most of our friends offering sips of their buckets just to get though the drink which tasted like 60% alcohol 40% coke it didn’t take long to get absolutely spastic. New years countdown happened in a flash and a massive array of fireworks sprouted over our heads. The fireworks were that close that everyone was getting burnt from the hot embers raining down on us, one lady had one go off in her face and her hair caught on fire trying to put her face out. It was hugs all around from me as Jacinta painted a big FREE HUGS sign on my chest with face paint and then the DOOF DOOF music started again and it was back to partying. It wasn’t too long before all those drinks had to come out and with the convenience of the ocean being close it was funny to see all the blokes standing almost shoulder to shoulder along the whole length of the 400 long beach and I could only imagine how much urine flowed back over everyone’s feet and back out to the ocean. The rest of the night seemed like a blur, I’m pretty sure that the Sang tip (A drink with Red Bull and coke) I had sips from a bucket earlier in the night had more Red Bull than my body could handle. The Red Bull they sell over here is 20 times stronger than back in Australia, it also has amphetamines or better known as SPEED and it’s sold in what’s looks like a medicine bottle. Although I didn’t have much, anyone that knows me understands I can’t drink coffee because of the caffeine really affects me and I really think that the Sang Tip did something to my memory at the time. I can remember dancing on the podiums allot and also scaling to the top of the fireworks platform and was throwing off the empty tubes of cardboard into the massive bomb fire below. Apparently the girls said that I was having my own little party and managed to collect a handful of glows sticks and carried them everywhere. I was also told that I was hugging everyone and with the FREE HUGS gone on my chest hours earlier I probably thought it was still on. Before long we were heading back to the taxi utes to try and get our way back home. We only lost Warwick halfway through the night and we continually checked back at our agreed check point for him and as I’m writing this I’m still yet to find out what happen to him.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb